Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a recipe my dad made too. For those of you who don't know, the Navy made this recipe using dried chipped beef and served it over toast, which is how I serve hamburger gravy. The sailors called it SOS aka S**t on a Shingle. Hence this is probably why so many people got this recipe from their dear ole dads. :) I make a simple cream gravy with butter, flour, salt, and pepper. Season it to your taste and serve over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was just ok. It thickened perfectly but there was no flavor. Will try again sometime but will experiment with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Add a few more onions and some seasoned salt. Mixed it all with egg noodles and was delicious. The family loved it and there was only enough left over for my lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I won't be making this one again. Not impressed with the flavors. To each their own though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monette Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicous! Believe it or not, this is an old time Marine Corps chow hall favorite! Tasted just like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is my go to gravy love love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I expected this to be a simple yet savory dish. Simple yes but very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Just season to however you are feeling. Garlic, of course was added, my personal taste. The ratio of milk to flour is perfect. Nice and thick, even my 4 year old cleaned her plate. Nicely made in one pan, quick and easy to cook, quick and easy to clean up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Both my husband and daughter thought this recipe tasted like "Thanksgiving." You could definitely taste the sage. I'm pretty sure I only put a teaspoon in, but we all thought it was a little overwhelming. I think if I make this again, I will leave the sage out unless I make it in November..LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
excellent and so easy to make! great flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ash, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States