Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great classic recipe. I switched out the hamburger for Johnsonville Italian Sausage. It turned out fantastic! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I just started cooking an I wanted to top my husbands hamburger gravy. I followed this recipe an my family an husband gave a big thumbs up. I will stick with this one it is easy an quick thanks . I love this site. I am enjoying everything I make from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hinrichs Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
5 stars for being a good and flexible recipe, an improvement over how most folks make this dish in my state of WA. Most local recipes require all the milk at the same time. That never made the sauce this good. What I love about the method described in this Dad's... is that this way makes a better gravy, with the milk used for two steps, the deglazing and then the thickening. I did modify: here's how: 1. I always put a tsp of Olive Oil and start to caramelize onions BEFORE I put the ground beef in so that I never have undercooked onions. 2. I chopped one fresh clove of garlic and added just after the beef. 3. I substituted "BetterThanBouilllon" BEEF for CHICKEN bouillon. 4. I added 1 TBL worcestershire sauce. 5. I added 1 TSP Creole Seasoning Mix. The flavor blend of the sage, butter, Creole, w. sauce and beef with 2% milk was truly unique and palate pleasing. It made this go from a customary to a surprisingly delightful surprising twist on a favorite. Finally, I used a cast iron skillet, which may have added to the texture and flavor balancing so nicely. Thank you for superior steps in preparation for the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I used this recipe for biscuits and gravy when I didn't have any sausage and a craving one evening. It was pretty good! I halved the recipe, used almond milk instead of regular, and so added some more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent. I wish I would have added a little Garlic salt and fresh ground Black Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Villier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very straightforward and easy to make. Follow the recipe to the letter and you'll have the desired product. Taste was good but very vanilla - you may want to doctor it up with some more seasoning. The sage was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitehouse, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Second day we served it over egg noodles, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used a pound of meat, and it was still too much hamburger for us. Next time, I will only use a half pound. I also only used three cups of milk total. It was very bland. I added a lot of other spices to make this edible. The process works, though it's no substitute for browned flour gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I really liked it.i made it for my family, and my brothers and sisters loved it! I did add oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is very good. It tastes like a good sausge gravey. Will use often. I did cut in half as there is just two of us and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States