Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My husband liked it, of course it wasn't as good as his mom's though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Raway Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Based on previous reviews, I used beef bouillion (Better Than Bouillion brans), doubled the sage and left out the salt. The only other changes I made were to add 2 tsp garlic powder and 2 tsp onion powder because I was out of fresh. Next time I'll use 4 cloves of garlic and a whole medium onion and saute them with the beef. I also used 80% ground beef just because I think it has far more flavor than the lean. Definitely takes me back to my childhood and definitely far more flavorful than the substitutes made with cream of mushroom soup. This is going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This gravy is awesome! I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 evaporated milk for that creamier gravy and 5 TB. "I can't believe it's not butter". I used 2 TSP. of "better than bouillon soup base". I just saw it called for 2 TB. Next time I will use 2TB granules. I tasted it and it tasted like something was missing(probably the bouillon I misread). I added a large heaping TB of onion powder and that did it!!! When tasting this I felt it would be better without the sage,but after it went on the biscuits it was awesome! I will add this to our recipe book. We are taking my mom some leftovers. She has to try this! We made biscuits with Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My mom used to make this for me when I was a kid. I found this recipe and it tastes better! I will definitely make this again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Richard
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Pretty yummy just not anything spectacular. Its hamburger gravy though so I dont know how spectacular its supposed to be. I added cayenne, a bit of worcestershire, some garlic, and used seasoning salt instead of regular. Good for what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! I substitute 1/2 half & half & 1/2 milk for an extra rich gravy and use beef boullion. Great with buttermilk biscuits in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dms036

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
We used to eat bread and gravy for dinner all the time growing up. This is yummy and a good kid food when trying to teach them to eat meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My daughter was begging me to make this meal for her for months. Her daycare use to make it for her and apparently she loved it. Anything she'll eat, I'll make because she's such a picky eater. I decided to use this recipe and she loved it. I didn't have the sage or chicken bouillon so we did without and it was still great! We put it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I loved it! Used beef bullion because...it's beef you're cooking. Added a little garlic for fun. Grew up eating this on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was very good. I have been hungry for this dinner and it was liked by the family and we will make it again. I did use beef bouillon instead of chicken and added garlic, garlic powder, onion salt and small amount of seasoning salt. Great comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States