Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I can now make gravy that's actually edible! Thank you whoever for this recipe! My family loves it over egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is a fabulous gravy recipe! My family loved it! Because we like thinks rich & spicy I added some red pepper flakes to the sausage as it cooked and replaced some of the milk with heavy cream! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heppner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Hubster wanted biscuits & gravy for breakfast and we didn't have any sausage, so we thought we'd give this gravy a try. It was delicious! It was a perfect thick & creamy texture. Didn't have any chicken bouillon granules, so I used seasoned salt and added a clove of minced garlic to make up for it. The sage really is the star in this gravy, so don't leave it out. We loved it. Thanks for the quick-save breakfast and a keeper of a recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Awesome comfort food! The first time I told my husband I was making this dish, he totally turned his nose up at it. After he tried it, he loved it. Now he begs for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent as a quick mean, and tastes very much to me like a sausage gravy...must be the sage. I would make this anytime for a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was great and my family loved it! I think the sage could be left out and it would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Sage was over powering. Will need to add less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Excellent! I will definitely be making this one again. I only had one pound of beef so I halved the recipe and poured it over leftover honey biscuits. Dad rocked the kitchen this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tracy, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We used to do this when I was growing up too! It is so nice to have things from your childhood! In Minnesota (land of the casserole and hotdish, lol) we used to serve this over mashed potatoes and string beans. IF we did not used ground beef, we would use left over chicken or turkey pieces after a holiday. I really reccomend this over mashed potatoes! My fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I've always had trouble making gravy from scratch and this turned out delicious. I did use a can of beef broth and used milk for the rest of the recipe to equal the 5 cups. I also added fresh mini bella mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions. Very good with the sage. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States