Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Sage was over powering. Will need to add less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Excellent! I will definitely be making this one again. I only had one pound of beef so I halved the recipe and poured it over leftover honey biscuits. Dad rocked the kitchen this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tracy, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We used to do this when I was growing up too! It is so nice to have things from your childhood! In Minnesota (land of the casserole and hotdish, lol) we used to serve this over mashed potatoes and string beans. IF we did not used ground beef, we would use left over chicken or turkey pieces after a holiday. I really reccomend this over mashed potatoes! My fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I've always had trouble making gravy from scratch and this turned out delicious. I did use a can of beef broth and used milk for the rest of the recipe to equal the 5 cups. I also added fresh mini bella mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions. Very good with the sage. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for my boys and they both liked it very much. Thanks for the recipe, Rhonda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was pretty good, but I think for personal taste I would use less ground beef next time. I missed the creaminess like you get with sausage gravy (I even added extra milk), but maybe it's not supposed to be like that? At any rate, it was good with that exception. Next time I might add a piece of crumbled bacon to give it a little twist on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I have not had this in years. Made it tonight for dinner and it was a nice change. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is very tasty and easy to make. It completely took me back to my mom's kitchen and to this standard she used to make for supper every couple of weeks. The only addition I made was throwing in a teaspoon of paprika and some mushrooms for a twist. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by showmefood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My husband liked it, of course it wasn't as good as his mom's though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Raway Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Based on previous reviews, I used beef bouillion (Better Than Bouillion brans), doubled the sage and left out the salt. The only other changes I made were to add 2 tsp garlic powder and 2 tsp onion powder because I was out of fresh. Next time I'll use 4 cloves of garlic and a whole medium onion and saute them with the beef. I also used 80% ground beef just because I think it has far more flavor than the lean. Definitely takes me back to my childhood and definitely far more flavorful than the substitutes made with cream of mushroom soup. This is going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States