Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent. I wish I would have added a little Garlic salt and fresh ground Black Pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Villier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very straightforward and easy to make. Follow the recipe to the letter and you'll have the desired product. Taste was good but very vanilla - you may want to doctor it up with some more seasoning. The sage was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Second day we served it over egg noodles, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Haven't tried this but an easier way and possibly more flavor is cook the hamburger and add Cream of Mushroom soup instead with some milk and if you want to thicken it up add some flour. Its also good if you add some sour cream to it or bake it for a bit in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used a pound of meat, and it was still too much hamburger for us. Next time, I will only use a half pound. I also only used three cups of milk total. It was very bland. I added a lot of other spices to make this edible. The process works, though it's no substitute for browned flour gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat541

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I really liked it.i made it for my family, and my brothers and sisters loved it! I did add oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is very good. It tastes like a good sausge gravey. Will use often. I did cut in half as there is just two of us and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I basically just looked at the ingredients and took it from there. Did not have boullon but I had seasoning from ramen noodles and used that. This turned out real good like my mom and dad use to make. So easy and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious and comforting! So much better than any I've ever had, and so easy. Followed exactly other than using beef instead of chicken bullion. Hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a recipe my dad made too. For those of you who don't know, the Navy made this recipe using dried chipped beef and served it over toast, which is how I serve hamburger gravy. The sailors called it SOS aka S**t on a Shingle. Hence this is probably why so many people got this recipe from their dear ole dads. :) I make a simple cream gravy with butter, flour, salt, and pepper. Season it to your taste and serve over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States