Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AWESOME!!! I love sausage gravy with biscuits but I didn't have any sausage so I decided to try your recipe. It is incredible. I think I'll be making this instead from now on. The only think I added was a bit of chopped garlic. Because garlic makes everything better....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coalgate, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Funny, my Dad's been making this for my sister and I since we were kids. Now, I make it for my boys. And they can't get enough of it. I used beef bouillion and cut back a little on the milk and used sour cream, just for a touch of creaminess. I like to add a little worchestershire and a drained can of sliced mushrooms. My whole family loves it and I get to smile and remember my childhood. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Another quick and very easy dinner to whip up. I didn't have 2 lbs of ground beef so I used a combination of beef and ground "sage" sausage. In place of raw chopped onion (kids don't like) I used 1/2 a packet of lipton dried onion mix. I wanted to add more flavor to the gravy so in place of ALL 5 cups of milk I used 2 cups evaporated milk, 1 cup low sodium boxed beef broth, 1 cup of water and 1 cup regular milk. Served over egg noodles and/or biscuits. I had 2 extra kids tonight for dinner and they all wanted seconds!!! Good thing this is one of those dishes you can continue to add liquid and flour to make more servings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was SO good! It was so good infact that I joined this site so I could post a review. I'm from the south and I've ate hamburger gravy since I was little and have been making it for MY family for years, but never with milk ...I love milk gravy, we use that for sausage gravy, chicken fried steak, etc. but never with hamburger meat, it was delicious! I ran out of milk so I used canned evaporated milk instead (one can milk to one can water to make whole milk, but had to use 2 cans to get the 5 cups) and it turned out wonderful, I also added about 4 tablespoons of beefy onion soup mix ( that i make myself) in place of the chicken boullion. Such a great recipe, thank you for posting it. This is now my new hamburger gravy recipe!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aisley
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I made it exactly as it is written and it turned out perfectly. Get some White Lily biscuits straight from the frozen foods section, pop them in the oven to bake, and then pour this gravy on top. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My family loved it. They are adding it the monthly planner. Very Very Good. I also add 1/2 pound of saugage .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING W/LOVE
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
not at all what I was expecting. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
My boyfriend loved this! I did add some beefy onion soup mix and it was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Love this recipe! I had this often as a child in Tennessee. My family always put it over toast. We have always heard it referred to as S*&! on a shingle!!! Too funny! Thanks for bringing back memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've made a similar recipe for years. Here's a tip for you: after frying the onions, I also add fresh or canned sliced mushrooms to the pan. Remove mushrooms and melt 1/3 c. butter and 1/4 c. flour, cook the butter and flour for about 3 min. to remove the raw flour taste and then add the milk (warmed) to the roux and wisk it to smooth out the gravy. Add rest of the ingredients. Fresh garlic diced is a good addition also. I've been cooking for 53 years now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States