Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really yummy over mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe. Growing up my Mom made the family something very close. Instead of sage, onion & chicken bouillon she used an envelope of dry onion soup mix. Made it a consistency to serve on a bun (sloppy joe style). She called it Onion Burgers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My dad was a Marine and this was a staple in their diet. He made it every Tuesday night for dinner. We serve over french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this turned out good. a little bland, but fine for picky kids. I used a little less milk (about one cup less), I just didn't see the point since I would be adding flour later. It was fine, next time I might even do less milk...I did add some garlic (because it's good in everything) and didn't put the butter in (didn't see the reason for the grease).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTENLIV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. The only minor change I made was that after browning the beef I took it out and fried up 4 strips of bacon to crispy perfection and used both the beef and bacon grease. I took out the bacon and put back the beef and continued the recipe as written. At the end when the gravy is thickened and I was adding the salt and pepper, I added the crumbled bacon. I will be using this as my staple hamburger gravy from now on! Delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Well, I followed the recipe and gave it a taste and it seemed so plain. So I had to add some spices to bring out some flavor. I doubled the amount of sage, added some cayenne, oregano, seasoned salt and white pepper. And a splash of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
WOW!!! I loved this recipe, the only the thing i changed is, i didn't have any onion (my family doesn't like them) so i used 2 teaspoons of garlic powder.......i doubled the recipe and it made ALOT!!! Will def. make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It's good and great for a fast meal. I wouldn't use the butter, I didn't find it necessary. We added mushrooms and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
not too shaby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
The sage made this recipe super good! I used lower fat ground turkey and it was awesome! Everyone in my family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcella71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States