Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I just made this today, and everyone in my family enjoyed the rich flavor! Instead of biscuits, which is traditional in the South, I added some pre-cooked bowtie pasta to the gravy. Very tasty, Rhonda. Next time, I may add a veggie to turn it into a complete meal. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I quite enjoyed this. I think think the key to the tasty flavor is the spices. This recipe has it right. In an effort to reduce the calories, I replaced half of the ground beef with chopped mushrooms. I added a little extra onion, too. The first time I made this I followed other reviewers advice and substituted sour cream for a bit of the milk. I did not like that as much as I liked it with all milk. I also used Better Than Bouillon beef instead of chicken granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
It was OK. I didn't have sage or bullion, so that may have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I followed the directions as written and it had nice flavor. Since it was just for myself, I cut the recipe in half and the gravy was the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
If ever anything deserved MINUS 5 stars, this is it! I was skeptical at first because the idea of hamburger and milk just doesn't appeal to me but after reading the reviews I thought I would try. Wrong! While waiting for my biscuits to finish baking, my husband came upstairs and said that it smelled good. When we sat down to eat, he quickly changed his mind and this is a man who will eat anything i put in front of him and love it. We ate our biscuits and salad. The biscuits are off this site, the baking powder biscuits (delicious) and the blue cheese dressing from this site too MMMM! Don't make this gravy. It is a waste of money, time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
We loved this! I followed the recipe exactly, except I reduced the meat to only 1 lb. and I used ground turkey instead of beef. The end results were seriously delicious, and this recipe is going straight into my "keeper" file. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
this is a great version, of course i have my own but yours is great also, i use hamb or sausage, what makes mine a quick easy version of my moms is i use the country style peppered gravy mixes in the pouches, i also sprinkle in dryed thyme leaves instead of sage, for beef use a brown gravy mix envelope, with a couple peppered ones, our secret i love to share is also add a big chunk of cream cheese, i whip up homemade from scratch bisguits, we like to call it a shinkle square pan full LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Love this recipe! I had this often as a child in Tennessee. My family always put it over toast. We have always heard it referred to as S*&! on a shingle!!! Too funny! Thanks for bringing back memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family loves hamburger gravy (and it is cheap!). I have made this several times. The first time I follow the directions so I can give a fair assessment. We liked it as directed, but my husband and I can't leave any recipe alone...we do add about 2 tsp. of garlic to it. Thank you for a recipe we keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really yummy over mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States