Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I followed the directions as written and it had nice flavor. Since it was just for myself, I cut the recipe in half and the gravy was the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
If ever anything deserved MINUS 5 stars, this is it! I was skeptical at first because the idea of hamburger and milk just doesn't appeal to me but after reading the reviews I thought I would try. Wrong! While waiting for my biscuits to finish baking, my husband came upstairs and said that it smelled good. When we sat down to eat, he quickly changed his mind and this is a man who will eat anything i put in front of him and love it. We ate our biscuits and salad. The biscuits are off this site, the baking powder biscuits (delicious) and the blue cheese dressing from this site too MMMM! Don't make this gravy. It is a waste of money, time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
We loved this! I followed the recipe exactly, except I reduced the meat to only 1 lb. and I used ground turkey instead of beef. The end results were seriously delicious, and this recipe is going straight into my "keeper" file. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
this is a great version, of course i have my own but yours is great also, i use hamb or sausage, what makes mine a quick easy version of my moms is i use the country style peppered gravy mixes in the pouches, i also sprinkle in dryed thyme leaves instead of sage, for beef use a brown gravy mix envelope, with a couple peppered ones, our secret i love to share is also add a big chunk of cream cheese, i whip up homemade from scratch bisguits, we like to call it a shinkle square pan full LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Love this recipe! I had this often as a child in Tennessee. My family always put it over toast. We have always heard it referred to as S*&! on a shingle!!! Too funny! Thanks for bringing back memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family loves hamburger gravy (and it is cheap!). I have made this several times. The first time I follow the directions so I can give a fair assessment. We liked it as directed, but my husband and I can't leave any recipe alone...we do add about 2 tsp. of garlic to it. Thank you for a recipe we keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really yummy over mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe. Growing up my Mom made the family something very close. Instead of sage, onion & chicken bouillon she used an envelope of dry onion soup mix. Made it a consistency to serve on a bun (sloppy joe style). She called it Onion Burgers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My dad was a Marine and this was a staple in their diet. He made it every Tuesday night for dinner. We serve over french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this turned out good. a little bland, but fine for picky kids. I used a little less milk (about one cup less), I just didn't see the point since I would be adding flour later. It was fine, next time I might even do less milk...I did add some garlic (because it's good in everything) and didn't put the butter in (didn't see the reason for the grease).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTENLIV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States