Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I love hamburger gravy over rice with a side of buttery green beans! P.s. Beef base adds fantastic flavor to the gravy as does a few drops of soy sauce! the soy sauce adds nice color, and a very rich delicious flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've made a similar recipe for years. Here's a tip for you: after frying the onions, I also add fresh or canned sliced mushrooms to the pan. Remove mushrooms and melt 1/3 c. butter and 1/4 c. flour, cook the butter and flour for about 3 min. to remove the raw flour taste and then add the milk (warmed) to the roux and wisk it to smooth out the gravy. Add rest of the ingredients. Fresh garlic diced is a good addition also. I've been cooking for 53 years now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
made it to a T and it was a hit in my house. I made it with Penne pasta and was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was tasty AND simple. I omitted the onions but added onion powder and garlic powder in addition to browning my meat with Montreal Steak Seasoning. I used skim milk (you'd never know!) and served over whole wheat Grands biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good for that moment when you realize you have very little in the house to make a decent dinner. My hubby said it tasted like his mom's hamburger gravy.. so that's the ultimate compliment for a rib stickin' recipe like this! We will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I homeschool my boys, and told them to go through the kitchen cupboard and pick out seasonings to add to this. We used garlic, sea salt, pepper, beef bouillon, and more. The beef bouillon really gave a nice flavor to this. We served it as a topping over green beans or mashed potatoes. We also enjoy it on toast. Our family has always made the creamed corned beef with Budding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Too bland, even though I added 4 cloves, a pinch of red pepper flakes and used all the onion in while cutting the meat and milk in half. It still required a lot of Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy and salt. However, my 22-yr-old nephew liked it, so 3 stars. Still, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I thought this was great. The first time I told my daughter I was going to make hamburger gravy she turned up her nose. She now requests it! I don't use sage only because my husband doesn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Have tried it 3 times now including premaking it and heating it up while camping. I tend to stick to recipes exactly as written and this one hasn't failed us yet. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States