Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very straightforward and easy to make. Follow the recipe to the letter and you'll have the desired product. Taste was good but very vanilla - you may want to doctor it up with some more seasoning. The sage was definitely a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitehouse, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Second day we served it over egg noodles, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used a pound of meat, and it was still too much hamburger for us. Next time, I will only use a half pound. I also only used three cups of milk total. It was very bland. I added a lot of other spices to make this edible. The process works, though it's no substitute for browned flour gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma baker
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I really liked it.i made it for my family, and my brothers and sisters loved it! I did add oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is very good. It tastes like a good sausge gravey. Will use often. I did cut in half as there is just two of us and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I basically just looked at the ingredients and took it from there. Did not have boullon but I had seasoning from ramen noodles and used that. This turned out real good like my mom and dad use to make. So easy and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious and comforting! So much better than any I've ever had, and so easy. Followed exactly other than using beef instead of chicken bullion. Hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a recipe my dad made too. For those of you who don't know, the Navy made this recipe using dried chipped beef and served it over toast, which is how I serve hamburger gravy. The sailors called it SOS aka S**t on a Shingle. Hence this is probably why so many people got this recipe from their dear ole dads. :) I make a simple cream gravy with butter, flour, salt, and pepper. Season it to your taste and serve over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was just ok. It thickened perfectly but there was no flavor. Will try again sometime but will experiment with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Add a few more onions and some seasoned salt. Mixed it all with egg noodles and was delicious. The family loved it and there was only enough left over for my lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States