Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
First time I ever made this and it came out great! Will def. keep making it for the family. Everyone was happy and no complaints. The only thing I did differently was used a can of French Onion soup instead of just an onion and beef cubes instead. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This has become a family favorite. The only thing that we do different is use some seasoning salt and add mushrooms to the gravy. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthBound

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great Recipe!!! I added the seasoning to the meat as it browned. If you do not season the meat as it cooks, it will be bland. I also added garlic powder and served on slices of toast. Defintely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a terrific quick week night recipe! My family loved it. The only change I made was to use beef bouillian instead of chicken. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
First of all I had high hopes for this dish. My Mom made a similar kind of gravy once a long time ago, but now after making this gravy, I think hers was made of Cream of Mushroom Soup and not from scratch. I am a firm believer that you can make the best food from scratch. That being said I really had to "doctor" this recipe up quite a bit and it is still pretty tasteless. I made it all like the directions said and found it to be so bland that I had to add a little "Country Gravy" packet with some extra milk to add some depth. I also added a Bay Leaf, Garlic Powder, Worchestershire Sauce, Seasoned Salt and Dried Parsley, along with the recipe's Dried Sage. I am really disappointed that even though I added all this, it's still pretty thick and inedible. This gravy was so thick I started to add water so it wouldn't end up tasting & being like glue. But the problem is that when you add water the flavor gets watered down too. So I am really stumped and dissapointed in this recipe to say the least. I am unfortunately going to give this 3 stars. I was hoping to give it more if I could've just been able to fix it up somewhat :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Better than my moms! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Nothing fancy, but still warm and comforting. My grandpa used to make this all the time so I always think of him when we have it. We like to serve ours over Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My ozark mountain grandmother used to make this for us as kids. This recipe was awesome - it took me back to my grandmothers hillbilly home. I used grands biscuits topped with mashed potatoes and smothered in this gravy. mmmmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This gravy was very good. It reminded me of what I had in the school cafeteria. I Added 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nate
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Pretty good, though a tad on the salty side. I'm going to use half the amount of chicken bouillon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States