Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Super duper yummy just as is. I used whole wheat flour rather than all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
YUMMY! Great flavor much better than anything I have tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianMcCo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is really great as is. When I used beef granules instead of chicken ones its even better. I'd give it 5 stars with the beef granules in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very good-- I took the advice of some others and added beefy onion soup mix. I feel it is missing something though- Not sure what yet, but I will make it again and if I change anything else for the better, I will repost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
First time I ever made this and it came out great! Will def. keep making it for the family. Everyone was happy and no complaints. The only thing I did differently was used a can of French Onion soup instead of just an onion and beef cubes instead. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This has become a family favorite. The only thing that we do different is use some seasoning salt and add mushrooms to the gravy. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthBound

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great Recipe!!! I added the seasoning to the meat as it browned. If you do not season the meat as it cooks, it will be bland. I also added garlic powder and served on slices of toast. Defintely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a terrific quick week night recipe! My family loved it. The only change I made was to use beef bouillian instead of chicken. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
First of all I had high hopes for this dish. My Mom made a similar kind of gravy once a long time ago, but now after making this gravy, I think hers was made of Cream of Mushroom Soup and not from scratch. I am a firm believer that you can make the best food from scratch. That being said I really had to "doctor" this recipe up quite a bit and it is still pretty tasteless. I made it all like the directions said and found it to be so bland that I had to add a little "Country Gravy" packet with some extra milk to add some depth. I also added a Bay Leaf, Garlic Powder, Worchestershire Sauce, Seasoned Salt and Dried Parsley, along with the recipe's Dried Sage. I am really disappointed that even though I added all this, it's still pretty thick and inedible. This gravy was so thick I started to add water so it wouldn't end up tasting & being like glue. But the problem is that when you add water the flavor gets watered down too. So I am really stumped and dissapointed in this recipe to say the least. I am unfortunately going to give this 3 stars. I was hoping to give it more if I could've just been able to fix it up somewhat :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Better than my moms! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States