Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for my boys and they both liked it very much. Thanks for the recipe, Rhonda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was pretty good, but I think for personal taste I would use less ground beef next time. I missed the creaminess like you get with sausage gravy (I even added extra milk), but maybe it's not supposed to be like that? At any rate, it was good with that exception. Next time I might add a piece of crumbled bacon to give it a little twist on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I have not had this in years. Made it tonight for dinner and it was a nice change. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is very tasty and easy to make. It completely took me back to my mom's kitchen and to this standard she used to make for supper every couple of weeks. The only addition I made was throwing in a teaspoon of paprika and some mushrooms for a twist. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by showmefood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My husband liked it, of course it wasn't as good as his mom's though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Raway Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Based on previous reviews, I used beef bouillion (Better Than Bouillion brans), doubled the sage and left out the salt. The only other changes I made were to add 2 tsp garlic powder and 2 tsp onion powder because I was out of fresh. Next time I'll use 4 cloves of garlic and a whole medium onion and saute them with the beef. I also used 80% ground beef just because I think it has far more flavor than the lean. Definitely takes me back to my childhood and definitely far more flavorful than the substitutes made with cream of mushroom soup. This is going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This gravy is awesome! I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 evaporated milk for that creamier gravy and 5 TB. "I can't believe it's not butter". I used 2 TSP. of "better than bouillon soup base". I just saw it called for 2 TB. Next time I will use 2TB granules. I tasted it and it tasted like something was missing(probably the bouillon I misread). I added a large heaping TB of onion powder and that did it!!! When tasting this I felt it would be better without the sage,but after it went on the biscuits it was awesome! I will add this to our recipe book. We are taking my mom some leftovers. She has to try this! We made biscuits with Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My mom used to make this for me when I was a kid. I found this recipe and it tastes better! I will definitely make this again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Richard
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Pretty yummy just not anything spectacular. Its hamburger gravy though so I dont know how spectacular its supposed to be. I added cayenne, a bit of worcestershire, some garlic, and used seasoning salt instead of regular. Good for what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! I substitute 1/2 half & half & 1/2 milk for an extra rich gravy and use beef boullion. Great with buttermilk biscuits in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Stafford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States