Dad's Hamburger Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Only had 1 lb ground beef on hand so we subbed the "2nd" lb with ground pork. Also used powdered onion as my guys aren't fond of lil' bits of onion in their food (spoiled much?!). When the gravy was poured over our cream cheese biscuits no one could spare a second to compliment the meal as we were too busy shoveling it in! My big guy had 3 helpings, unheard of for him. Excellent comfort food meal which will be added to our monthly meal rotation. Leftovers are best heated up with the addition of a bit of milk, in our opinion, to thin the gravy as it really thickens after an overnight chill'n in the fridge. Only herb addition we added was a tsp of dried summer savory (a staple in my kitchen) along with the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Yuuuummmm! Followed recipe exactly, no complaints from my picky family. It was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mattfraser
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! The only thing I did differently was add 1 tsp of salt and pepper as well as 1 tsp of liquid gravy browner. My Mom has made this from scratch a different way and like mine better. I'll make it in the future for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Went way better than expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I was looking for a hamburger gravy recipe that tasted similar to that we had in school in the 70's. This is very close, love the taste of sage in it, but still missing some type of spice. We enjoyed this but I will add some garlic the next time I make it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great classic recipe. I switched out the hamburger for Johnsonville Italian Sausage. It turned out fantastic! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I just started cooking an I wanted to top my husbands hamburger gravy. I followed this recipe an my family an husband gave a big thumbs up. I will stick with this one it is easy an quick thanks . I love this site. I am enjoying everything I make from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hinrichs Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
5 stars for being a good and flexible recipe, an improvement over how most folks make this dish in my state of WA. Most local recipes require all the milk at the same time. That never made the sauce this good. What I love about the method described in this Dad's... is that this way makes a better gravy, with the milk used for two steps, the deglazing and then the thickening. I did modify: here's how: 1. I always put a tsp of Olive Oil and start to caramelize onions BEFORE I put the ground beef in so that I never have undercooked onions. 2. I chopped one fresh clove of garlic and added just after the beef. 3. I substituted "BetterThanBouilllon" BEEF for CHICKEN bouillon. 4. I added 1 TBL worcestershire sauce. 5. I added 1 TSP Creole Seasoning Mix. The flavor blend of the sage, butter, Creole, w. sauce and beef with 2% milk was truly unique and palate pleasing. It made this go from a customary to a surprisingly delightful surprising twist on a favorite. Finally, I used a cast iron skillet, which may have added to the texture and flavor balancing so nicely. Thank you for superior steps in preparation for the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States