Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the directions as written. The cookies were okay but not delicious. My family members at a couple and then I froze the rest to give away. I would give the recipe three stars. The next day, I tried the recipe again making changes suggested by other reviewers. I used butter instead of shortening and I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. These changes made a big difference. Everybody in my family loved them and gobbled them up. They had a better peanut butter flavor and texture that we like. I give the recipe change 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I found the dough a bit crumbly ( does anyone know how to fix this? ) at first, but the cookies turned out to be FANTASTIC! everyone in my family loves them. tip: make sure to let them cool for about 10 minutes, otherwise the cookies crumble and go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
these are what I remember peanut butter cookies tasting like as a child!!!! Crisp edges and lots of flavor--YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I didn't need to make this one - it is the same recipe we've been using for years! The only difference is, I don't add any salt. I'd also add that you can change the basic first "mouth impression" of the cookie depending on what you criss cross with. Dip your fork in water, shake it off, and put in FLOUR for a richer, chewier cookie, and WHITE granulated SUGAR for a sweeter, slightly more crunchy finish. Either way, these will disappear fast! Also, if you use the parchment paper on your cookie sheet, the bottoms will come out more evenly. YUM! I'm making some of these today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
My family of 6 went through 4 dozen of these peanut butter cookies in 3 days. This is the best recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Hmmmmm. I loved the crunchy texture, not chewy at all! A Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
The cookies came out really dry. Plus, the recipe says 375 degress, but it seems as though it should be a little lower. My cookies burned after 5 minutes at 375. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
These are great!!! I baked them for exactly 8 minutes, and they came out slightly crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is one of the best cookie recipes I have ever tried. They went so fast. My husband and kids were eating them as soon as they cooled down enough to eat. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Great taste and easy, too. I do wish you didn't have to chill the dough first, though. I used Reduced Fat peanut butter to cut a few calories and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States