Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is the same recipe I've used for years, original came out of a Betty Crocker cookbook my hubby gave me for our first anniversary 35 years ago this Sunday. Its the only PB cookie recipe I've used!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made exact to recipe, EXCEPT that I didn't refrigerate first. It was pretty dry and crumbly. After pressing with the fork, I had to reshape each cookie or they would have been in pieces. The texture of the cookie was like a shortbread cookie, it crumbled in our mouths, which was nice and tasty. It only made 28 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not the best. I read quite a few of the reviews and made the changes most all had suggested and these had very little PB taste even upping it to a cup of PB. The one cup of brown sugar was too much...that's what these taste like, I'd stick with the original sugar amounts in the recipe. I did cut the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp. and that was perfect. Otherwise there is no PB taste - not a classic recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I followed suggestions and used butter instead of shortening, 3/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c white sugar, and 3/4 cup peanut butter instead of 1/2 c. I liked them a lot with these alterations. I rolled in sugar, but there was no need, as they were already sugary enough. I won't do that next time. Also, I will add Reese's Pieces next time as well, becaus I looooove pb and the more the better. I only gave four stars because of the alterations I made. Nice and chewy cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I've been trying different PB cookie recipes lately, and this one was alright. I liked being able to use shortening instead of butter for cost reasons, but it's not worth the difference in taste. I'll stick with the richer, butter flavored ones. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe, and if you're looking for a cost effective, just okay simple cookie recipe, this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
GREAT recipe! Everyone loved these! I used butter & raw sugar. I saved this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too Mild Peanut taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
they are ok. as i was making them into balls, i noticed how dry and crumbly they looked, hence, once baked they came out a little dry. I followed recipe to a T. Taste is good, just wish they were more moist. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racingrussells5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Totally veganized this recipe substituted 1/8 cup extra virgin olive oil for shortening (I would have used pure coconut or canola, but I didn't have it available) 2 tbsp cold water mixed with 1 tbsp corn starch in place of egg added 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar omitted the baking soda, added about 2tsp vanilla extract and used about 3 cups peanut butter(I love peanut butter) and baked as soon as I mixed the dough with no refrigeration if I were to bake these again, I would increase the amount of oil to 1/4 cup ( I didn't find a whole half cup necessary) I would decrease the sugar, my mistake in adding more than called for----and I would read the reviews because 375 was way too hot, I would decrease oven temp to 350 and expect cookies to take only about eight minutes to bake. my cookies were crumbly and they burned, but they were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I really do not feel comfortable rating recipes, this is my first review, I feel like everyone has their own taste. I made these cookies last night with two 11 year old boys. They are very very good. I used butter instead of shortening, and added about 1/4 cup of pnut butter. They still seemed crumbly. We baked them anyhow and they are delish. I might have added even more pnut butter, to add a little moisture. Used smooth instead of crunchy, cause that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States