Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These really ARE killer cookies!!! Just wanted to say, you don't have to use crunchy peanut butter- but it does give it a delicious crunchy texture. Also, for a more moist, and soft cookie batch, I always say to add a pack of vanilla pudding mix. It always works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made these but changed a few things. Butter not shortening, extra 1/4 peanut butter, extra 1/4 flour, dash of vanilla, left out the salt and added smarties. Used a cookies cool and baked for 12 minutes and they turned out perfect. Next time I will sprinkle a little surface on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is the same recipe I've used for years, original came out of a Betty Crocker cookbook my hubby gave me for our first anniversary 35 years ago this Sunday. Its the only PB cookie recipe I've used!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made exact to recipe, EXCEPT that I didn't refrigerate first. It was pretty dry and crumbly. After pressing with the fork, I had to reshape each cookie or they would have been in pieces. The texture of the cookie was like a shortbread cookie, it crumbled in our mouths, which was nice and tasty. It only made 28 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not the best. I read quite a few of the reviews and made the changes most all had suggested and these had very little PB taste even upping it to a cup of PB. The one cup of brown sugar was too much...that's what these taste like, I'd stick with the original sugar amounts in the recipe. I did cut the vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp. and that was perfect. Otherwise there is no PB taste - not a classic recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I followed suggestions and used butter instead of shortening, 3/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c white sugar, and 3/4 cup peanut butter instead of 1/2 c. I liked them a lot with these alterations. I rolled in sugar, but there was no need, as they were already sugary enough. I won't do that next time. Also, I will add Reese's Pieces next time as well, becaus I looooove pb and the more the better. I only gave four stars because of the alterations I made. Nice and chewy cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I've been trying different PB cookie recipes lately, and this one was alright. I liked being able to use shortening instead of butter for cost reasons, but it's not worth the difference in taste. I'll stick with the richer, butter flavored ones. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe, and if you're looking for a cost effective, just okay simple cookie recipe, this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
GREAT recipe! Everyone loved these! I used butter & raw sugar. I saved this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Too Mild Peanut taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
they are ok. as i was making them into balls, i noticed how dry and crumbly they looked, hence, once baked they came out a little dry. I followed recipe to a T. Taste is good, just wish they were more moist. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racingrussells5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States