Dad's Excellent Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Mouth-watering!! This is a truly excellent recipe. I added garlic and lemon juice to the melted butter and sprinkled on Old Bay before wrapping the scallops. I grilled them in a grill basket rather than bothering with toothpicks or skewers. We devoured these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Certainly quick and easy, but nothing to rave about. There are much better recipes to use with expensive ingredients like shrimp and prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This is a great recipe and actually I have been using one like it for some time now. I add garlic and lemon juice to the butter as well. Great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and rich. Boyfriend said they were the best scallops he ever had. I put three wrapped scallops on two skewers and served on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I could not believe how good this came out. The only thing I did was give the scallops a sprinkle of 'Old Bay' right before they were done. I based a few extra times as well. The saltiness of the food was perfect. Don't waiver from this recipe and you'll be set for some good eating. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
i thought these were pretty good except that it was too salty for us. next time i will use much smaller pieces of proscuitto because it really does give the scallops good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I love recipes that can be prepared ahead, are quick and easy, and so good. I made these ahead, refrigerated them and threw them on the grill as an appetizer. I reduced about one cup of heavy cream, 2 Tablespoons maple syrup, and 1 heaping Tablespoon dijon mustard and served as a sauce on the side (use caution, I didn't measure, so this is a guess). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Made these this summer. They were wonderful! So easy, and yet elegant enough for company. We made them according to recipe, only brushed them with plain olive oil. Used large fresh sea scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This was good, but way too rich for me to eat as a main meal. One thing I did to save on time was to skewer the scallops as shish kabobs. I would probably make again as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States