Dad's Escarole and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yum! I added two cans of tuna for some protein boost and 1/2 cup of red quinoa for texture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have made this twice. I do I vegan variation with veggie broth but it needs a bit more salt and seasonings like Spike. Fast and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanne
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I recently made this soup and it was delicious!!! This is my first time eating or making escarole/bean soup. I don't know how to make a recipe without "doctoring" it up, so I made a few changes because I can't help myself. I only added maybe 3/4 cup of fresh diced tomatoes because I had them on hand from making pizza. I used organic "Better than Boullion" instead of cubes because it has a deeper flavor than cubes. While sauteeing the onions and garlic, I also cubed and added a small smoked ham steak (figured it would be a good additive). It gave the soup a richer flavor - I am glad I did that. With some fresh garlic toast, it was definitely a hit in my house. I will definitely make it again - if I don't, my family may hurt me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Love this recipe. The only things I do differently are ..I use fire roasted tomatoes, canned chicken broth, and occasionally I add some fresh basil and thyme from my garden when able. I also put a little parmesan in the soup while cooking. Have made this really often, always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookenup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I'm from Rhode Island. Italian food is our specialty. Add a can of blended cannellini beans at the end to thicken it. Also, we use a little pancetta with the olive oil and garlic to start. It's a different, thicker soup but sure you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I put everything in my crockpot! I used a carton of vegetable broth and added 2 cups of water. I used three different types of canned beans and added a tabelspoon of dried dill to make it interesting. I did have to add a good amount of salt - since everything I used was no salt added! The only part I cooked on the stove - was I sauteed 2 red onions and 2 medium hot peppers in grapeseed oil, butter, salt, and 2 tablespoons of sugar to almost caramelize them - then added them to the crockpot. Cooked on low for 5 hours - WONDERFUL - the slight warmth from the peppers was perfect for this 23 degree night we are supposed to have! Thanks! Will use again and again - the crockpot - made this soooo easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i am glad i found this recipe; while i used what i had on hand, this recipe was a saving grace for me. i had just made a small amount of chicken stock, added a small bunch of escarole, and after seeing this recipe, added some bruchetta that i made the other day. i left out the beans, and boy is this good!!! thanks so much for the post islandgirl17!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent! Made it a few times and never the same. A very adaptable recipe! From different beans, greens to even adding pasta----ALWAYS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is so good. I have never made it with tomatoes before and loved it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States