Dad's Down Home Cornbread and Jalapeno Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
We like it with EXTRA jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This was an amazing meatloaf!! It was very different than the boring ketchup and dry bread crumb loaf. My husband loved it. A few changes, I added two more jalapenos and two more cloves of garlic and a dash of cayenne (we like it spicy). This was one of the first recipes I've tried here and the first one I've reviewed and I was really blown away by this site. I will make this even more this fall when its "comfy food time" cause dh adored it and so did I! It is VERY yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Hi all- I'm back after making this again and reading some of the "breaking" comments. I have an easy solution. For the cornbread (1/2 cup), buy a box of cornbread muffin mix and use 1/2 cup dry mix instead of 1/2 crumbled baked muffins. WORKS GREAT. I did that the first time and have done it since, using a box of corn muffin mix for this recipe only and storing the remainder in the fridge until next time. Try that folks, trust me it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This meatloaf was awesome! Very moist with just the right amount of spice. There was a lot of fat that had to be drained but I expected that with the pork. It's perfect with a little salsa served on the side. Will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I usually don't like meatloaf unless it is bathing in ketchup, but this was soooo good! I used extra sharp white cheddar instead of pepperjack (only because I had the cheddar on hand). This meatloaf was moist, flavorful---delicious. Because I need my sauce, I used a doctored-up version of the Chipotle- Blue cheese sauce on this site ( I added mayo and sour cream). Holy smokes-was it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Hey all! This is my recipe, so of course I'm going to rate it well! :) But seriously, I can understand the concern about extra fat content. Here's one thing I often do: simply place a standard-size cooling rack inside your baking dish and place the meatloaf atop that, so that the fattier liquids run off and do not soak the loaf as it cooks. If your cooling rack won't fit, simply roll aluminum foil "logs" (three should do) to support the meatloaf in the pan. One last thing: this is obviously a cornbread/pepperjack/jalapeno version. You could change the theme entirely by focusing on changing the bread/cheese/veggie versions (... for example, I've used sourdough bread crumbs, mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes). Adjust additional spices, if any, accordingly. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Absolutely loved it, best meatloaf I've ever had. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was the BEST meatloaf. Used hot sausage for added kick. Makes great sandwiches too. To help with solidity, make sure to pour off the grease and let it cool a little and "set" before you start dishing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States