Dad's Down Home Cornbread and Jalapeno Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Hey all! This is my recipe, so of course I'm going to rate it well! :) But seriously, I can understand the concern about extra fat content. Here's one thing I often do: simply place a standard-size cooling rack inside your baking dish and place the meatloaf atop that, so that the fattier liquids run off and do not soak the loaf as it cooks. If your cooling rack won't fit, simply roll aluminum foil "logs" (three should do) to support the meatloaf in the pan. One last thing: this is obviously a cornbread/pepperjack/jalapeno version. You could change the theme entirely by focusing on changing the bread/cheese/veggie versions (... for example, I've used sourdough bread crumbs, mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes). Adjust additional spices, if any, accordingly. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Hi all- I'm back after making this again and reading some of the "breaking" comments. I have an easy solution. For the cornbread (1/2 cup), buy a box of cornbread muffin mix and use 1/2 cup dry mix instead of 1/2 crumbled baked muffins. WORKS GREAT. I did that the first time and have done it since, using a box of corn muffin mix for this recipe only and storing the remainder in the fridge until next time. Try that folks, trust me it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was a pretty good twist on boring old meat loaf! The one thing I felt like it was missing was a sauce of some sort...perhaps top/serve w/salsa? I made it close to as written w/a few minor changes. I used only a little over 1 pound of very lean ground beef and scaled everything else down. Per prior reviews, I used dry cornbread mix, rather than cornbread (and I probably ended up using close to 1 C til it seemed a good consistency). I used canned Mexicorn blend (and if I make this again I will use frozen corn...did not care for the strong "canned corn" taste) & jarred diced jalaps (about 3 heaping tsps full as the store was out of fresh jalaps). I didn't really measure much, just eyeballed as usual. I made in muffin tins rather than in a traditional loaf for individual servings and had NO problem w/grease whatsoever. I baked for about 35 min at 350. The consistency was excellent, firm yet moist, and it had a unique flavor. THANK YOU for a nice twist to boring old meat loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Really tasty and moist, definitely high on the calories but so hard not to eat it by the truckload!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this as part of a comfort food dinner party for friends and it was all gone even though I doubled the recipe. I used half as much jalepeno as called for but used a whole box of Jiffy Cornbread mix instead of cornbread and it was delish! Thank you, I will forever call this one "Dad's Meatloaf" no one has to know it wasn't my dad's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I usually don't like meatloaf unless it is bathing in ketchup, but this was soooo good! I used extra sharp white cheddar instead of pepperjack (only because I had the cheddar on hand). This meatloaf was moist, flavorful---delicious. Because I need my sauce, I used a doctored-up version of the Chipotle- Blue cheese sauce on this site ( I added mayo and sour cream). Holy smokes-was it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
UPDATE: I made this recipe last night and instead of adding french onion soup mix as i usally do i added 2 taco seasoning packets and doritos and ommitted the sour cream. It was my best meatloaf yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherstdale, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was the BEST meatloaf. Used hot sausage for added kick. Makes great sandwiches too. To help with solidity, make sure to pour off the grease and let it cool a little and "set" before you start dishing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I am always looking for good ways to make meatloaf. I thought this was very good, a nice change from the regular versions. I used corn muffin mix, instead of crumbs, and all ground beef, instead of beef/pork. Also, I cooked on a rack so the grease drained. It retained it's loaf shape, and was great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This meatloaf was awesome! Very moist with just the right amount of spice. There was a lot of fat that had to be drained but I expected that with the pork. It's perfect with a little salsa served on the side. Will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States