Dad's Down Home Cornbread and Jalapeno Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I dont know what all the fuss is about - this was okay but took too many ingredients for a simple item like meatloaf. The flavor was okay, did not care for the texture of the jalepenos and corn. Needs a sauce of some kind. I followed the recipe as printed except for using all beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Absolutely loved it, best meatloaf I've ever had. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Hey all! This is my recipe, so of course I'm going to rate it well! :) But seriously, I can understand the concern about extra fat content. Here's one thing I often do: simply place a standard-size cooling rack inside your baking dish and place the meatloaf atop that, so that the fattier liquids run off and do not soak the loaf as it cooks. If your cooling rack won't fit, simply roll aluminum foil "logs" (three should do) to support the meatloaf in the pan. One last thing: this is obviously a cornbread/pepperjack/jalapeno version. You could change the theme entirely by focusing on changing the bread/cheese/veggie versions (... for example, I've used sourdough bread crumbs, mozzarella, and sun-dried tomatoes). Adjust additional spices, if any, accordingly. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I usually don't like meatloaf unless it is bathing in ketchup, but this was soooo good! I used extra sharp white cheddar instead of pepperjack (only because I had the cheddar on hand). This meatloaf was moist, flavorful---delicious. Because I need my sauce, I used a doctored-up version of the Chipotle- Blue cheese sauce on this site ( I added mayo and sour cream). Holy smokes-was it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Sorry but i didn't care for this. Very greasy. I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
We like it with EXTRA jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This meatloaf was awesome! Very moist with just the right amount of spice. There was a lot of fat that had to be drained but I expected that with the pork. It's perfect with a little salsa served on the side. Will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
The addition of the cornbread was definetly different. And this by far is a meal in itself. I used some pickled jalepeno peppers that I had on hand. This was not a terrible recipe it just was not flavorful one I want to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Hi all- I'm back after making this again and reading some of the "breaking" comments. I have an easy solution. For the cornbread (1/2 cup), buy a box of cornbread muffin mix and use 1/2 cup dry mix instead of 1/2 crumbled baked muffins. WORKS GREAT. I did that the first time and have done it since, using a box of corn muffin mix for this recipe only and storing the remainder in the fridge until next time. Try that folks, trust me it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States