Dad's Down Home Cornbread and Jalapeno Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Maybe i'm just not a meatloaf person. I wasn't that crazy about this one. The flavor was ok but it didn't have the kick I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
OMG! What a great new way to do meatloaf!!! I've been doing the same old, same old and then I found this one. I just used ground beef because that's what I had on hand and it was still great and I add salas on top! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Aww shucks! This one wasn't a winner for us. My boys described it as tasting "weird".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhSoLittleMouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the best cornbread I have ever had. DH requested a spicy cornbread and this completely suited our Texas tastes. I baked fresh cornbread and used it. I think the right-out-of-the-oven cornbread helped keep this super moist. Next time I will probably add an additional jalepeno or two just because we could have had it a little more spicy. This doubled very nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Loved it. Spicy and tasty but not too hot. My husband loved it and I will defintely make it again. I did alter one small thing. Instead of using fresh jalapeno peppers I used the canned "pickled" kind from the mexican section of the grocer that come with carrots and onions. Just chopped up about a quarter of the can of the onions, carrots and jalapenos and threw them in. Wasnt too spicy and snuck in some extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is my favorite meatloaf recipe of all time! It is something different and inventive, fun for the taste buds! I didn't have any ground pork so I used 2 lbs ground beef, and the only cheese I had was cheddar, but it turned out fantastic! My husband and I practically fought over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I liked this meatloaf, but did not find the flavors different enough than regular meatloaf as I have made it in the past to warrant the trouble of making it again. My husband and I agreed we could not taste the jalapeno flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great! Very moist meatloaf; I substituted dry cornbread mix for the crumbled cornbread. This dish went great with my homemade extra thick potato soup and cornbread =)Next time I might try mixing some mild salsa or stewed diced tomatoes in since this doesn't have a sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberln

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I took previous advice and used cornbread mix, made them in cupcake tins and husband took to lunch and warmed them up at work! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Our only change from the original recipe was replacing the cornbread with cornbread mix. My wife thought this was the best meatlof she ever had. I know we will be making this one again and experimenting with it to get it just so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States