Dad's Down Home Cornbread and Jalapeno Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Fridge WYSIWYG Version and Less Fat! No Corn, added green onions instead. No Sour Cream, used Non-Fat Greek Yogurt. No Jack Cheese, used Cheddar (not sure you really even need cheese...) and definitely top the loaf with 1C of BBQ Sauce for nice glazed, moister meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Best meatloaf I've ever had, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for my friend and his friend and they loved it. It was so delicious just that it was a little dry next time i make it i will add some butter to make it moist. it was a bit dry. the home made mash potatoes complimented the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was very tasty. I was nervous about the jalepenos, but I didn't need to be. I really didn't taste any heat from this. Next time I'll add another one. I used ground turkey and ground pork instead of beef and pork. The only thing I think this really needs is a saucy topping. I whipped up a sauce with diced toamtoes, a little ketchup and some tabsco to serve on the side. next time I make this I'll add a sauce to the top before I bake it. I also added fresh spinach to the mix because I always throw it in.. get more veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
LOVE this recipe! Being a bit whimpy I leave out the jalapenos and I use Colby Jack instead of jalapeno jack cheese. I make this every 2-3 weeks and keep it around for leftovers and lunch. The cornbread crumbs really make the flavor unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This turned out really well. Followed the recipe closely- substituted corn bread mix for the actual thing, as someone suggested. We'll be eating leftovers for another couple of days. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was the best meatloaf! I didn't use the ground pork, only ground beef. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myvallie
Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
It seemed bland to me. I ended up putting bbq sauce on it for flavor. It had a kick to it but without the flavor I was expecting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
To keep the grease from saturating the meat loaf, take a piece of aluminum foil and fold it into a 6x9 rectangle, punch a bunch of holes in it with a fork and place that on a cooling rack. Put meatloaf on top of the foil..keeps the grease away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I use my stoneware muffin pans and make little meat "muffins". It cuts the cook time in half and are perfect sized portions for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States