Dad's Double Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These were surprisingly excellent! I am on Weight Watchers and was looking for a healthier alternative to traditional pancakes. Using solely whole wheat flour (eliminated the all-purpose flour) gave these a nuttier flavor, but they were so light and fluffy. I substituted 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the butter and used 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. Splenda instead of sugar. I used skim milk instead of the dry milk powder and water and also added 2 tsp. flax seed and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. If the batter is too runny, it can be thickened with a little extra flour. These freeze and reheat very well for a quick and filling breakfast. Great with no-sugar maple syrup and turkey sausage links!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These pancakes are delicious although we modified them to make them a bit fluffier and also healthier! We changed the butter to 1/3 cup of applesauce. We eliminated the water and used fat free milk, and a 1/2 tsp vanilla. We also added some wheat germ! They were delicious and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Delicious! I cut the recipe in half & used whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour. Used 1/3 cup Splenda & even for me, with a notorious sweet tooth, thinks that 1/4 cup is plenty! Used 3/4 cup milk & 1/2 cup water. Added 2 tsp cinn & upped the vanilla to 1 tsp. Used 3 tbsp applesauce. I like my pancakes to be not to thick but not TOO thin & this worked perfectly. Loved the healthy ingredients. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I’m giving this 5 stars even though I made several modifications. It’s a great recipe! My changes are: 1 1/2 C non-fat buttermilk and 3/4 C water instead of milk powder and water (I actually increased the water even more because my family likes thin pancakes with crisp edges, but for most it would probably be too thin). I also decreased regular flour from 1 C to 1/2C, and then added 1/4C flax seed meal, 1/4C wheat germ. Added about a teaspoon of cinnamon, too. Like other reviewers, I cut way down on the sugar (to slightly less than 1/2 C and also used honey for most of the sweetener). These were excellent pancakes. My husband is usually leery of the taste of “non-traditional” pancakes, but he gave it high praise. And my children gobbled them up. This has become my preferred pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Totally like my Dad's pancakes. We had these every Saturday for years and it was worth the wait every Saturday just to have them. I made three small changes; I used all whole wheat flour, I upped the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and I only used just under a 1/4 cup of sugar. I might cut back the sugar even more next time but these were awesome. Really light and fluffy and just......AWESOME. This might be my new go-to pancake recipe. NOTE: This recipe makes a TON so if you're like me, you can freeze the pancakes in batches on a flat baking sheet and portion out into freezer bags for days you don't want to make a hot breakfast from beginning to end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
We loved these "healthier" pancakes. I used applesauce instead of butter and splenda instead of sugar and was pleased with the result. I thought they were great without syrup as well. I made the full batch and froze the leftovers in little packages of 3 pancakes for individual microwave breakfasts on the run and they were great. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
An excellent and nutritious breakfast! I make them in batch and freeze between wax paper sheets - easy to heat up in the toaster or microwave for a quick snack. For variety I occasionally add fresh or frozen fruit at the last second before cooking. For fluffiest pancakes, wait until just before cooking to mix dry and wet ingredients and just fold in, don't stir too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNevard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This pancake recipe was delicious! I omitted the butter and added 1/4 cup of applesauce and it still turned out great. My 2 year old said, "Mommy, I love these!" and he ate 3 of them! I will use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good recipe. Time consuming, but the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were delicious. My daughter 'doesn't like pancakes', but these got her approval. Many thanks for a good whole wheat pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States