Dad's Double Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
These turned out fantastic. My version that my family liked the most was an adaptation to the recipe where the butter was replaced with Applesauce and milk was used instead of water. I kept the vanilla, and I added about tablespoon of cinnamon and 2 chopped apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good recipe! They kind of stuck to my frying pans, which are black non-stick but they tasted great and we ate all of them (2 adults, 3 little kids)! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These are so good! I as well did the applesauce instead of butter. So wonderful! Especially knowing these aren't bad for you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Totally like my Dad's pancakes. We had these every Saturday for years and it was worth the wait every Saturday just to have them. I made three small changes; I used all whole wheat flour, I upped the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and I only used just under a 1/4 cup of sugar. I might cut back the sugar even more next time but these were awesome. Really light and fluffy and just......AWESOME. This might be my new go-to pancake recipe. NOTE: This recipe makes a TON so if you're like me, you can freeze the pancakes in batches on a flat baking sheet and portion out into freezer bags for days you don't want to make a hot breakfast from beginning to end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good recipe. Time consuming, but the family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were delicious. My daughter 'doesn't like pancakes', but these got her approval. Many thanks for a good whole wheat pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Flippin' perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I really liked these! Quartered the recipe and ended up with 5 pancakes which was perfect. Use all whole wheat flour and you'll be fine - instead of just adding water, I used 1% milk (why not, right?!), skipped the butter, and added vanilla. Served with honey butter and homemade rhubarb compote. What a yummy start to the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This are the BEST!!! I just made them, but made some slight modifications, I used skim milk instead of water, I used 10 little equal pachages for the sugar ( you can use splenda that is the best for baking, and cooking, but equal worked wonderfully), and also the flour: I used 2 cups of STONE GROUND WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, (STONE GROUND is much better for you... because whole wheat by itself it means, that the flour is already processed, and is as bad as White flour) I did'nt use dry milk powder, didn't use vinegar, and also didn't use white flour. used some butter pam Spray, and YUMMY!!!!! topped with sugar free syrup, and a little bit of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macarari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I also changed a few things. I skipped the sugar and added 1/4 cup of applesauce for the butter. I didn't sift the dry ingredients and found that this made it VERY lump (my bad). The flavor was exceptional! will make many more times. Made A LOT of cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States