Dad's Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe , but I live in Florida so I brought the temp. to 300 almost hard crack stage and beat almost 10 min. Don't stop beating until it looks dull !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Turned out nice. I am notta fan of divinity, but turned out perfectly. Everyone who tried it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mklamarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was great! My Fathers favorite candy is Divinity and I really wanted to make some for him. This does set up fast so work it quick! Good stuff !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is a really great divinity. I added a 1/2 cup of dried blueberries and 1/2 cup of walnuts. To add a little more zip. The little blueberries made the candy even sweeter. However, I had guests from Maine that loved this that is why I used the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have not tried this recipe as it is very similar to the one I have used for years. You are not supposed to make divinity when it rains as it supposedly will not set BUT my recipe says that if it is humid remove 1 tablespoon of water. Since I live in Texas where it is always humid, I always remove the water and my recipe works even when it is raining!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This turned out perfect! The consistency turned out exactly like it should, and all in all, it was very yummy! I found the directions a LITTLE hard to follow, as "soft ball stage" is harder in my book than just saying "330-340 degrees"..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Good recipe but lots of sugar to start. I found a fix for gooey divinity flops after 4 different attempts from various Divinity recipes. Like others have said the key is pouring in the cooked syrup very slowly in slim streams while beating with the eggs whites. Pouring too much at once will cook the egg whites. Then keep beating (in my case it took 15 minutes) until it starts to lose its gloss. But if it is still gooey, here's how to save it: Reheat the mixture - microwave if you have a glass bowl or put metal pan in very hot water, so it gives your mixer a rest and makes the candy warmer and more pliable. Then start mixing again. If it still wont set up, add about 1/2 to 1 tsp of hot water to the mix then sprinkle in about 1/2 to 1 cup powdered sugar while mixing ON SLOW. It will start to set up much faster now and it changes the texture from a smooth chewy candy to a more fudge-like texture, which I actually like better. I know this is just adding more sugar but other Divinity recipes call for less sugar in the original list of ingredients. ALSO: Try this for a wonderful new flavor. When it's time to add the Vanilla, instead add the following: 1/4 tsp. Peppermint Extract 1/4 tsp. Butter flavor Extract 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract (more or less peppermint or butter extract to taste) 5 - 7 drops Yellow Food Coloring BUTTER MINT DIVINITY! You won't go back to plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This Divinity is delicious!!! And it's absolutley goof proof...Great for a quick party take-along!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Use 1 cup of syrup instead of 3/4. Also add 1/4 tsp. salt. I wouldn't bother cooking the syrup in two different stages. Just cook the mixture to 250 degrees. Otherwise, I think it gives it more potential for failure. Don't stir the syrup mixture while it's boiling or it can sugar. Add 1 tsp. vanilla or almond extract at the very end. Doing it this way has made some fantastic divinity. Remember, don't make divinity when it's humid outside or it will flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
These are really good but I found that they took a while before they would keep there shape so I would just let the mixture sit in the bowl for a couple of minutes and then go back and finish mixing. That's what worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States