Dad's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and delicious! Turned out wonderful! I also added a little more vanilla then suggested and 1/2 tsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have to say - this is one of my favorite oatmeal cookie recipes! I cut both sugars to 3/4 cup and used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup white flour. I also used unsweetened coconut. These were plenty sweet! My kids insisted that I add mini-chocolate chips, which I did. These were a hit in my house, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
LOVE these cookies... by coincidence, My Dad's mom was named Dorothy, too LOL. These remind me of the cookies Ikea carries. I have no idea why these taste so buttery with no butter in them, but we make them sans coconut and sometimes add chocolate chips. If they get a bit crisp they are awesome with a cup of tea. Also liked with added cinnamon. SUCH an easy recipe to change up for variety, but it is our favorite as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. We used organic Coconut flour and when it partnered with the coconut flakes, it was DIVINE!! I added a little extra baking soda and they were chewy and rather large!! A quick and easy recipe that i'll use again and share. :) Can't wait to make more! Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Pretty new to this whole baking thing but try orange extract instead of vanilla - pretty great cookie. I also added another 1/2 cup of oatmeal (used quick oats) and liked the consitency better. Haven't tried cutting the white sugar down as suggested by others but they do seem a little sugary so I'm going to try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made these according to the directions and my family LOVED them! The cookies were easy to make and turned out perfect. They were devoured within two days and I'm making more today. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Downing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made lots of alterations to this recipe. I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. after I blending the ingredients the dough was liquid-ish. I added another cup and 1/4 of flour. I made some with a coconut topping but I think its a little too sweet that way. I used semisweet chocolate chips for the rest and they taste really really good. the chocolate balances out the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Soooo delicious. Everyone at work wanted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very Greasy recipe...you end up squishing the oil out of a cookie and throwing out the remaining dough near the end of the last batch...Although cookies tasted good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Oh yeah. I followed everything in the recipe and these cookies were great! The lack of spices made me leery and intrigued at the same time, so of course I had to make this! It's a very different recipe than the one I've used my whole life, but it's a good difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States