Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by skyvsus
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was looking for something other than my usual meatloaf and thank goodness I came across this recipe! It was ABSOLUTELY delicious! I only needed half the recipe because it was just 3 of us ... The only thing I changed was I used 5 slices of bacon to cover while loaf instead of 3 and I used slices of American cheese instead of cheddar bc that is what I had on hand !! It stayed together perfectly and and was still moist! I will definetly make this recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Fabulous! My whole family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Wow! I did this recipe exactly as you read it, didnt change anything, it was absolutely delish! My husband just loved it. Hats off to your dad's meatloaf, definitely keeping this recipe around. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I give this recipe high marks for it's great flavor and relative ease to make. I do have a few substitutions I made however. I use fresh basil, oregano, and finely minced fresh garlic. One other substitution is Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce instead of ketchup it seems to add a certain zest that I prefer. I use the fresh vs powder because I grow these herbs. I also add two extra strips of bacon across the top and weave them into the slices coming up and around the meatloaf. (I like bacon) :) PS: In order to not have it be greasy use one of the new meatloaf pans with a rack so you can lift it out easily plus it can be raised slightly to allow the bacon grease to drip to the bottom of the pan away from the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nearcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I just made a meatloaf, its in the oven. Wish I would have seen this recipe with the cheese.....looks amazing! I make a bacon wrapped meatloaf but have never thought of cheese....will try next time! I think a good trick I learned for meatloaf is regrind the meat, it is so much better I think. I like to use lamb and sausage in addition to beef. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Very easy and quick meal! My family loved it. I added about 5 more pieces of bacon that I layered in between the 2 layers of beef. It was a super bacon extravaganza!!! I don't eat meat and I don't cook it very often, but if I did eat meat, I would start here! Everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was delicious! I love meatloaf, and my husband hates meatloaf. My kids don't care one way or the other. I finally found a meatloaf recipe that everyone loves. My husband actually had seconds. I followed the recipe, omitting the kosher salt, and adding more ketchup. The only thing I did not like about the recip was the amount of grease in the bottom of the pan when it was done cooking. I had to take meatloaf out of pan and put on serving tray to serve. This way I avoided all of the grease. Not very healthy, but a great dinner once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie73cats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved the idea of the recipe. The first time, I wasn't thrilled with the outcome. The second time, I chopped the raw bacon and mixed it into the raw ground beef, and cut the cheese into large cubes (maybe 1/2 inch) and mixed those in. I cooked as directed, sprinkled some cheese on top at the end, and it was great. The bacon flavor permeated the meat, rather that just sitting on top, and there were little bursts of cheese throughout the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Excellent Recipe. The only changes I made were to chunk the cheese up into cubes and mix it into the meat mixture and, because I needed it right away, I made 10 mini flat loaves. It was cooked thoroughly in about 30 minutes. Family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States