Dad's Asian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I've made this for several years, easy, fast, and awesome flavor!! Great for barbecues, with ribs, steak tips, sausage, whatever. I use the Newman's Own oil and vinegar, but add 1 tbsp. freshly minced ginger, really makes the recipe pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was easy and very good and I got a lot of compliments when I took it to a potluck. I did wait to put in the noodles, sunflower seeds and almonds until just before I was going to serve it as others suggested. I'm glad I did because there was some crunch to the salad still. I do believe you could also wait to mix the dressing with the slaw very close to serving it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Must add noodles a few minutes before serving. Very tasty. Most people I have served this to love it and ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made other coleslaw recipes before this one became my official stand-by recipe. So I know that you should not add the Ramen noodles until you are ready to serve your salad. Also, since the recipe says to use Newman's Own Oil and Vinegar dressing, I recommend that you do just that. Substituting other dressings compromises the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made as listed and also tried recipe substituting the dressing with vinegar,sugar and oil. I think the vinegar sugar and oil option had more bite. Eat the slaw quick and add noodles just before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I love this recipe even though I did not use sunflower seeds only because I did not have any. I will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made this for Christmas lunch with ham sandwiches. I did not have the seeds and nuts, so I omitted those. I used sesame oil, rice vinegar and sugar for the dressing and added the ramen noodles and scallions. I like that it is safe to leave out since there is no mayo in it and it tastes healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I added a bag of broccoli slaw for added nutrition and texture, as well as an additional package of ramen noodles. Great, easy, inexpensive, healthy recipe for last-minute pot lucks or bbq!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
OH YUM! I've had this before but never made it myself. I used Newman's Own Oil & Vinegar dressing, oriental-flavor ramen, and cut the sugar to a little less than 1/3 cup...now my son & I are trying not to eat it before my husband has a chance to get home from work! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is so good! Easy to make and quite flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States