Dad's Asian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The is the BEST Coleslaw recipe I have ever tried!! I just made it for the first time and it was so easy to make! I sampled some before I put it in the refrigerator to chill and it was delicious!! I can't wail to serve it with dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great! next time I won't add the crunchy noodles until I'm ready to serve the salad...they got a little too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
When I was about 10 a small cafe opened up downtown, close to where I live. One of the first things I ever tried from it was a "pasta salad" my mother had purchased for me. I knew that it consisted of what looked like coleslaw and ramen noodles, but didn't have the slightest idea as to how they made it. I've searched allrecipes repeatedly, looking for anything similar, but always managed to come up short. Then I found this purely by accident the other day while looking for ways to doll up some ramen. THIS IS IT! This is exactly what I'd looked for. I did slightly alter the recipe, because I had chicken ramen, but it still came out beautifully! I also didn't have the specific nuts listed, but I did have a can of crushed mixed-nuts for Sundae toppings (cashews, peanuts, pecans), which worked wonderfully. This is an excellent recipe, and if you like slaw, you'll LOVE this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great recipe and very adaptable. You can toss in some frozen peas and sesame seeds. Don't have any green onions, use finely chopped white onions. You just can't go wrong with this recipe. Tray is right, it is great with ANY meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fair Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I love the idea of using bottled dressing! I have made this for years and used 3/4C vinegar, 3/4C sugar, and 1T of oil which works but the dressing is a nice shortcut. I also had always used chicken flavor noodles but love the beef ones too. Great recipe and always a crowd favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I love this stuff and had been looking for a recipe for a long time. It turned out a little sweeter than I remember but next time I'll just add a little less sugar. Awesome! UPDATE: I think I must have just gotten a big 1/2 cup the first time b/c I just made this yesterday doubling the recipe & it was perfect! I used a full cup of sugar & the entire bottle of dressing. There is one little bitty bowl left, it was wonderful! I guess I just got carried away with the sugar the first time! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was great. A nice change from mayo based coleslaw or a lettuce salad. Instead of beef ramen, I used the Asian ramen. I chose to make my own vinegar and oil dressing, rather than use bottled (easy and way less expensive ~ 1 cup of olive oil and a 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar). It is sweet, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I loved this cole slaw it was different a break from the same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I just finished making this. OMG-wonderful flavor!! I used Newmans Own Lowfat Seasame Ginger dressing and 2 bags coleslaw(plenty of dressing for both bags)3/4 c.chopped Wasabi Almonds(Blue Diamond brand)Toasted the Ramen/onion/almonds a bit...FANTASTIC!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!! I can't wait to try this on fish tacos---chicken/steak,,the possiblilites are endless..YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I loved this and I am still dreaming about having it again. I omitted the sunflower seed (not a favorite) and used oriental ramem (my 3 year old like the blue not the red package). All I could find at my store was broccoli slaw so I used that. Sounds like a lot but the base was the same and it was delicious. I did wait to put the noodles in until right before serving because I wanted the crunch. This was so good and I will be finding reasons to make it. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States