Daddy's Savory Tomato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have a brother who can take a can of peas and a dozen eggs and make a gourmet meal! These were wonderful! I added a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese bc reading the recipe brought to mind having a grilled cheese with tomato soup so it seemed like a natural thing to do. They were delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These were just okay for me. They have an unappealing, unbiscuit-like, orangey color and an off flavor, rather than a tomato flavor, which I didn't detect at all. The texture seemed off to me too - hard to describe, just didn't seem right. Was the balance of baking soda off because of the V-8 perhaps? Further, probably because of the V-8, they were too salty. I much prefer biscuits made with buttermilk or milk, and a higher baking temperature of 425-450 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and followed the recipe exactly. Baked them on parchment paper and they turned out to be perfect with the homemade chili we had for dinner tonight. We all loved the taste of tomato in these. They would be also good with soup. Thanks for posting, michellej. These are a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This sounds like something my mom used to do when I was a kid. We grew up poor and she had to make due with whatever was on hand. All six of us kids thought (I still do ) she was the best cook in the world. She could feed an army on just a few items in the pantry and fridge. I can't wait to eat these! Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Batter was a little thin to roll out- just made them as drop biscuits. Very good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These are "Savory" little biscuits nice hint of tomato flavor! These are easy to put together and a great base for add-in's. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/4 tsp. each of salt and baking soda. I added 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning, and 2 Tbsp. of Parmesan cheese to give it a little pizzaz. Next time I might even add in some chopped sun-dried tomatoes. I did end up adding a little more tomato juice to the dough. I rolled these out on a lightly floured surface and cut it with a mini- biscuit cutter. I baked these on parchment paper and they baked up beautifully in ten minutes. I topped them with melted butter - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent biscuits. Thank you! I also tried adding a little bit of crumpled feta, almost tasted like a greek salad, was very tasty as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed these. They had a nice tomato flavor. I used spicy vegetable juice cocktail so it had a little bit of a kick to it, Will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States