Daddy's Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Surprisingly good. I didn't have any garlic-flavored olive oil, so I added extra garlic cloves to make up for it. I used Italian sweet sausage and peppers from my garden. I was skeptical at first, but after 45 minutes of cooking, the flavors started to really come together. My husband loved this. Like some others, I also doubled the tomatoes. The other change I made was to cook everything at a slightly higher heat than called for because I love sweet vegetables to be just a bit scorched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes, heirloom tomatoes, onions, peppers, zucchini and basil from my garden and made it with Chicken sausage (sundried tomato). I used less garlic and served with homemade pasta. When making it again, I'd add some red pepper flakes or use a spicier sausage for a little more kick and flavor. And possibly eliminate the mozzarella. Didn't really seem to need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Haha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Followed recipe to a T and it was relish! Made it for my Daddy (really did!) and he can be quite picky about food. He said he loved it and it was seasoned just right. I never get that level of praise from him! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McCrink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Removed the casings before browning and added the onions and garlic with the peppers. Then added two 14.5oz cans of italian diced tomatoes. Served over farfalle pasta and thought it was phenomenal! I make a variation of this all the time with turkey kielbasa so I wasn't expecting much, but I am definitely going to change it up from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Sooo delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. I made double portion so I could have it for dinner and the leftovers for lunch the next day. But I nearly finished it all that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplefish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This recipe is delicious! We substitute ground sausage and add a 2nd can of tomatoes and serve it with pasta as well. It is a welcomed change from a heavy tomato sauce :) THanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
FANTASTIC! My husband, neighbor and I LOOOOVED this!!! To be fair, I did make a couple of changes. Without them, I think we would have liked this much less. Simmering peppers for a half hour seemed far too long to me (I don't care for mushy peppers), so I combined two steps into one and simmered for only HALF the suggested time . I simply browned my cut (spicy) sausage, then added my peppers, tomatoes, onion, garlic and Italian seasoning. I tossed everything with my garlic infused olive oil, then topped with grated Parm, covered and simmered as directed. My peppers were slightly softened and oh so yummy!!! For a casual twist, I served this sandwich-style on toasted hoagie rolls (I brushed my rolls with a garlic butter mixture first). I topped each sandwiche with a bit of warmed pizza sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese and then popped under the broiler for a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. Mmmmmm.... Thanks SO very much for sharing your daddy's recipe, Amy! Other than omitting the tomatoes next time (I don't feel they belong here), I'll change NOTHING!!! This is absolutely perfect as is! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Spectacular flavor! We eliminated the pasta for a low-carb meal and ate this more as a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I almost followed the recipe. I guess I never do. The changes I made I think made it a 5 star. I used turkey Italian sausage as my husband can not eat pork. I added another 3/4 cup of parmesan cheese and about 1 cup of grated asiago cheese, blended that with all the other ingredients mixed in precooked pasta shells then topped it with the mozzarella cheese. Love it, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was wonderful. Because I am unable to eat cheese, I let everyone at the dinner table add cheese to theirs individually. I also added 1 teaspoon smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States