Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. We make this all the time and use frozen for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
delicious! the only thing I added was a clove of garlic. it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
It takes about 20 minutes of sauteeing. But it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe as written except I did add a few sliced grape tomatoes towards the end. I used 5 ears of fresh corn, so I added a tad more butter. I was getting a bit tired of grilled fresh corn on the cob since we have so much available here this time of year, so this is a nice change. I really love the flavor the onion gives this dish, and using fresh corn really adds a wonderful sweetness . The addition of the tomatoes did add a nice pop of flavor also. I will be making this simple side dish again for sure! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Made it just as stated... we loved it! It was so good and so easy! A tasty way to serve corn and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
so easy and so good! i did make some changes: 1. i doubled the recipe (for a meal for 7 ppl) 2. used regular yellow onions instead of sweet, since that's what i had on hand 3. canned corn instead of fresh- about 5.5 cups for the doubled recipe 4. some olive oil instead of the butter, to make the dish dairy-free the prep time and cook time were both cut in half by using canned corn and oil. the corn tastes so sweet. i can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
So I dunno... What's the right AR etiquette if you make something and a fairly picky eater cannot stand it? Do you rate the recipe down? (He even Googled corn and onions 'cuz he didn't think anyone in their right mind should put them together -- funny, he loves corn, and likes onions more than I do. Why did the combo not work??) I liked these but wasn't raving about them (like I said, onions aren't top of my list). I ate the rest of the batch no problem. It's not the recipe's fault that we don't care for the taste, right? BUT: Isn't the purpose of the rating to alert others that the recipe may not be for everyone?? Oh the dilemma. I'm going to rate this puppy square in the middle. I hope that is a good compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was an easy and tasty recipe to make. For a two person serving I used 1 1/2 c of corn and used cajun spice to accompany my cajun chicken. I will certainly be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Didn't think such a simple recipe could be so good! I make this with frozen corn and it's still great. I like making this in a cast iron skillet. Seems to make it taste even better! Make sure to add enough salt--that really seems to make all the flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
A quick and easy side dish. I used frozen corn kernels, also added some diced roasted red peppers for color and extra flavor, and ready in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States