Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I really liked this as a side dish. Next time I might add a diced jalapeno pepper to spice it up a bit, but I can see why kids would love it as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I fry bacon, take that out of the skillet once its done. Add the onions to the bacon grease, once they are soft I add the corn, a few minutes before taking off the eye I add the bacon(crumbled). I usually use frozen corn. Do not overcook - it will become sticky. This is the only way I get the family to eat corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Simple, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've done this recipe several time and it is Excellent as is! However, this time i threw in a little less than a tsp of fresh basil (had just picked some up from the farmers market and the smell was devine). Next time i may try adding fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great side dish. Had some extra ears of corn left over from the 4th and did not want to make the usual cream corn etc. The addition of the onions was fantastic. I did not have sweet onions available so used regular yellow onions and added a teaspoon of sugar. This was a very savory side dish that turned into the main course for my 9 year old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash_Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Gibson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
had some cooked corn on the cob so chopped up 1 vidalia and tossed that in the pan with the butter. If corn is already cooked do not put it in the pan before frying the onions. onions should be browned before throwing in the corn or corn will burn. heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I originally made this with canned white shoepeg corn (I can't stand the normal yellow canned corn). While it's still canned corn, it was so delicious. Here is what I did: Sauteed some minced garlic in the butter and then added the onion (I used a whole yellow onion by the way 'cuz I love onion). I sauteed that for a bit to reduce the juices. Then I added 2 cans of white shoepeg corn. Cooked all of it down for a while, and sprinkling with salt and pepper through the process) until the whole concoction became this yummy corn, onion-y, garlicky, buttery flavor. The corn and the onion really do blend nicely together. And with garlic, butter, salt and pepper, it's simply sublime. I do use a tad more butter than recommended, just so it can reduce and cook down more. Today I tried it with fresh white corn. 4 ears, same process as with the canned white corn. So far it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Oh my gosh, this is so easy & so GOOD!!! The fresher & sweeter the corn the better. This will be a spring staple at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
easy. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Used canned corn (since it's February!), added a celery rib just because I had it and some fresh minced garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States