Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
For the people who said this was too fatty and too buttery (1/2 tablespoon per serving!)- This is really a nutritionally friendly recipe! Read Nutrition Information: Amount Per Serving = Calories: 161; Total Fat: 7g; Cholesterol: 16mg; Sodium: 384mg; Total Carbs: 25.6g; Dietary Fiber: 3.1g; Protein: 3.5g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I used this as a side dish for Aussie Chicken from this site. I needed to cook some bacon for the chicken and I saw some reviewrs say that they thought a bit of crumbled bacon would taste good with this side dish. So, I used just a little bit of the bacon drippings to "fry" up the corn and onions. The result was amazing. It tasted wonderful and the hubby and I both really liked. I know not a healthy dish...but who cares. Tasted great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I substituted 2 cups of corn for the 4 fresh ears-this was a great side with barbecued ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I grew up with this. I often add some chopped green bell peppers and on occassion, some fried bacon (crumbled). However, it really is good as is. Great side to burgers or grilled BBQ chicken. Fresh sweet corn is the best but I have used frozen corn w/ decent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
thought everybody knew about this.For winter use,blanch the ears and then cool in ice water.Cut off of ears and freeze.This way you will have it for winter days and never open a can of that bland and tasteless stuff again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
For folks who have not caramelized onions before - the process takes at least 20 minutes at low temp. Start the onions (with butter and salt/spice) first and once they get brown, and sweet, and delicious... :) then add the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Really good! I added some fresh garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Ive done this several times. It's very good for such a simple recipe. Sometimes I add red bell pepper for color and flavor. My kids actually love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
i made this for my dad on father's day. its a new way to make corn and its fabulous. I just add my own spices, like garlic salt/pepper and things like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GollyGeeDamn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Very good, especially since I mixed up my onions and put my sweet vidalia in the other dish I was making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States