Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Made it just as stated... we loved it! It was so good and so easy! A tasty way to serve corn and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
so easy and so good! i did make some changes: 1. i doubled the recipe (for a meal for 7 ppl) 2. used regular yellow onions instead of sweet, since that's what i had on hand 3. canned corn instead of fresh- about 5.5 cups for the doubled recipe 4. some olive oil instead of the butter, to make the dish dairy-free the prep time and cook time were both cut in half by using canned corn and oil. the corn tastes so sweet. i can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
So I dunno... What's the right AR etiquette if you make something and a fairly picky eater cannot stand it? Do you rate the recipe down? (He even Googled corn and onions 'cuz he didn't think anyone in their right mind should put them together -- funny, he loves corn, and likes onions more than I do. Why did the combo not work??) I liked these but wasn't raving about them (like I said, onions aren't top of my list). I ate the rest of the batch no problem. It's not the recipe's fault that we don't care for the taste, right? BUT: Isn't the purpose of the rating to alert others that the recipe may not be for everyone?? Oh the dilemma. I'm going to rate this puppy square in the middle. I hope that is a good compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was an easy and tasty recipe to make. For a two person serving I used 1 1/2 c of corn and used cajun spice to accompany my cajun chicken. I will certainly be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Didn't think such a simple recipe could be so good! I make this with frozen corn and it's still great. I like making this in a cast iron skillet. Seems to make it taste even better! Make sure to add enough salt--that really seems to make all the flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
A quick and easy side dish. I used frozen corn kernels, also added some diced roasted red peppers for color and extra flavor, and ready in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
A hit ! This would beat the heck out of grilling corn for a big BBQ party. I used frozen corn and added crisp bacon to the mix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWINGYOURDONUTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not the best vegetable dish I've had. It turned out really oily. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
used drained canned corn. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this last night and everyone liked it, even my daughter who hates onions! I added a 1/2 tsp of sugar while carmelizing the vidala and some sweet red pepper. That's all and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States