Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was fantastic! I know that many people don't like when someone significantly changes the recipe and then rates it and it bothers me sometimes too. So, I apologize in advance. However, I did use many of the suggestions made by other reviewers. First, and this is not a change, I did use fresh ears of corn blanched for 5 minutes and shocked in cold water. I cooked three slices of bacon and used the grease to caramelize the onions and broke up the bacon to use in the recipe . I used only about 1/2 tablespoon of butter. I also added some diced fresh Roma tomatoes. Next time I'll use more sweet onion because they added great flavor when caramelized. I also added some Splenda and salt tasting until I got the right combination I was looking for. Two of us ate all four portions! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I can give this 5 stars. I used bacon grease instead of butter and frozen corn instead of fresh. After reading some other comments, I added freshly dice tomatoes near the end. My entire family loved it, especially my 6yo. My son didn't care for it because of the tomatoes, so I picked them out. I also added a drop of freshly chopped garlic. Very very good recipe and many things can be added. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANIENEE
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
One of my favorite side dishes. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamKeebler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. We make this all the time and use frozen for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
delicious! the only thing I added was a clove of garlic. it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
It takes about 20 minutes of sauteeing. But it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
We really enjoyed this! I followed the recipe as written except I did add a few sliced grape tomatoes towards the end. I used 5 ears of fresh corn, so I added a tad more butter. I was getting a bit tired of grilled fresh corn on the cob since we have so much available here this time of year, so this is a nice change. I really love the flavor the onion gives this dish, and using fresh corn really adds a wonderful sweetness . The addition of the tomatoes did add a nice pop of flavor also. I will be making this simple side dish again for sure! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Made it just as stated... we loved it! It was so good and so easy! A tasty way to serve corn and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
so easy and so good! i did make some changes: 1. i doubled the recipe (for a meal for 7 ppl) 2. used regular yellow onions instead of sweet, since that's what i had on hand 3. canned corn instead of fresh- about 5.5 cups for the doubled recipe 4. some olive oil instead of the butter, to make the dish dairy-free the prep time and cook time were both cut in half by using canned corn and oil. the corn tastes so sweet. i can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States