Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is so easy and good. You can use yogurt butter instead of whole butter. I also add green chile for a more zesty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Just as pictured, Bi-color sweet corn, Vadalia onions, and fresh tomatoes. I'm in heaven. Cook the onions just enough to blanch. Also, I used a "light" butter. There are several good ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is an awesome summertime side dish. If using frozen corn, boil it for a few minutes first with 1-2 tablespoons of sugar. It will be as tender and sweet as fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I saute fresh corn, red onion and asparagus in olive oil with a pad of butter and salt and pepper. We can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
If you don't have frsh corn, don't use the tasteless canned corn. I buy the steamfresh corn. I slowly carmelize the onion, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, and some slat and pepper in the pan while the corn is steaming in the microwave. About 20 minutes later, once the onion is golden and translucent, I stir in the corn. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missability

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Oh yes, and adding one minced jalapeño gives just the right amount of heat to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is a simple but excellent recipe. However, cook the onions first then add the corn for just 3 or 4 minutes. When you do the corn first, the corn gets overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Have made this for years (I'm 75 so I mean years) with the fresh sweetcorn from our garden. However, I always add chopped green pepper and garlic and a tad bit of milk while it is cooking. Extra YUMMY. This is our family favorite while corn is in season except for, of course, the grilled garlic butter corn on the cob. During off season and our palate drools for it I do use canned corn. Freshlike is best used that way as it is canned with no juice. More like fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made charred corn like this tonight except I used canola oil. You char the corn kernels for about 1 minute then add ginger (preferably fresh) and add some minced garlic, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper. The corn gets nice and sweet and contrasts nicely with the other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was so easy and delicious. I probably used more butter than called for...but nothing wrong with that! :) My new favorite way to eat fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States