Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
very good way to dress up corn. i used 2 cups of frozen corn since that is what i had on hand... i also added 3 small cloves of garlic. i loved it. hubby wasn't sure about the onion/ corn combo, but he cleaned his plate and had seconds so it must have been OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cumbola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is very tasty but I almost didn't make it based on the photos. For those who like carmelized onions I suggest adding the diced onion to 1 TBS butter and 1 TBS bacon grease or oil and frying until most pieces are starting to brown before adding corn and then fry them together, stirring often, until most of the onion is very brown and starting to crisp and the corn looks roasted. Note to self: use a 12 oz bag of corn and a med sweet onion, add a pinch of sugar after adding corn to onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Great way to use leftover corn on the cob. I added my red bell peppers for extra color and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I loved this! I used around 1½ cups frozen corn (not thawed), around 1 TBS bacon grease, ½ a small onion, salt and pepper, and I added 2 medium-diced medium-sized potatoes (parboiled for around 7 minutes before adding). I fried the onion up in the grease until it started to brown, then added the potatoes for a couple minutes, then added the corn last. My daughter and I scarfed it, my husband ate it with minimal complaints (he has issues with corn, though). He said he'd eat it again, so it's a success! Thanks for sharing, Momof2Boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this last night for dinner and my daughter, who is a fast food queen and finicky eater, loved it. She liked it so much she just called me at work to tell me how much better it was the second day since she fixed a plate and took it to work for lunch. She NEVER does that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I don't know where I've been all my life. I had never considered combining fresh sweet corn and sweet onions before in a side dish. I actually made this recipe as written, an aberration for me, and it was wonderful!! Perhaps others' poor results came from inferior fresh corn, I don't know. What I DO know is that this is going to become a summertime staple in my house!! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Simple, easy and fast side-dish. I added just a little bit of fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
A great way to cook corn. I used frozen sweet corn and added bell pepper and a dash of seasoned salt. It had a very good flavor and was a nice change from plain, boiled corn. Served as a side to Fried Chicken with Creamy Gravy from this site and white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is a yummy recipe. I made it with very fresh vegetables, including red, green, orange and yellow peppers. The taste was delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a great side dish- tasty, quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States