Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG never had this before. Was wonderful different way to take fresh corn on the cob and change the flavor and texture. I would give this 10 stars if I could. I had 3 dozen ears and was going to blanch most, but this will turn it to 1/2 that amount. Just an add on ; I made it the second day with a few home grown tomatoes thrown in after it was done. Even a better combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Just like other reviewers said- it's simple and perfect. Really impressive, actually! I will make this all summer long, definitely!! Husband and baby loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe falls into the category of simplicity at it's best. If this seems like too high a compliment aimed at the lowly ear of corn, you may want to give this dish a try. THREE INGREDIENTS! (+S&P). I made this exactly as written. The corn smells so good as it is sauteed with the butter. I can understand why some would choose to cook the onions first. They do need about 20 minutes to become heavy in flavour and achieve caramelization. However I'm inclined to think that this was not the submitter's intention. "Just beginning to get crispy" is what the instructions tell us to look for. For the record I do really like caramelized onions. The deep flavour impact they produce is heavenly. I think the star of this recipe is the corn. Using fresh is undoubtedly the way to go if possible. 4 ears of fresh corn often costs less than 1 dollar. You cannot get much better a vegetable than fresh corn to provide the essence of relaxed summer meals. This is a good example of seasonable dining. I used 1/2 of a smallish vidalia onion which provided another layer of sweetness. Thanks for posting this recipe. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good!! Plenty of flavor! The whole family thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was surprisingly tasty considering its simplicity. I made this to go with pot roast and substituted some beef drippings for the butter. I also used frozen corn and a plain old yellow onion. Which I guess means I used this recipe more as a guideline, but it was still shockingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was great. I also used canned corn and I added some leftover diced tomatoes. This is how I will be making corn from now on. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I used the canned corn and sauteed it in olive oil with onions and peppers and it was an awesome side dish for dinner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Gross. What a waste of a side dish. Learn how to properly season sheesh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I've been told it was good and I knew it was good when I tasted it tho I might do things a little different next time,how would it be to sautee it in olive oil,and add bell pepper? might try that next time and I'm confidant there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I needed a side dish, and this sounded simple enough. I didn't have fresh corn so I used can. This was awesome. Next time,I'll make sure I have fresh. I did add some cherry tomatoes to it like another viewer did. Goes to show, you don't need a lot to make something taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States