Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is so good!!! I used canned corn though because thats what I had. I also added some shrimp to it that was left over from the night before. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was very good! Often the simple things are, I find. I've never had fresh corn this way and I'm so glad I tried it. I used 2 tsps butter and 2 tsps olive oil to sautee and added garlic and a dash of chili powder. I can definitely see myself making this often. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Simple, delicious. Great side dish for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG never had this before. Was wonderful different way to take fresh corn on the cob and change the flavor and texture. I would give this 10 stars if I could. I had 3 dozen ears and was going to blanch most, but this will turn it to 1/2 that amount. Just an add on ; I made it the second day with a few home grown tomatoes thrown in after it was done. Even a better combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Just like other reviewers said- it's simple and perfect. Really impressive, actually! I will make this all summer long, definitely!! Husband and baby loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe falls into the category of simplicity at it's best. If this seems like too high a compliment aimed at the lowly ear of corn, you may want to give this dish a try. THREE INGREDIENTS! (+S&P). I made this exactly as written. The corn smells so good as it is sauteed with the butter. I can understand why some would choose to cook the onions first. They do need about 20 minutes to become heavy in flavour and achieve caramelization. However I'm inclined to think that this was not the submitter's intention. "Just beginning to get crispy" is what the instructions tell us to look for. For the record I do really like caramelized onions. The deep flavour impact they produce is heavenly. I think the star of this recipe is the corn. Using fresh is undoubtedly the way to go if possible. 4 ears of fresh corn often costs less than 1 dollar. You cannot get much better a vegetable than fresh corn to provide the essence of relaxed summer meals. This is a good example of seasonable dining. I used 1/2 of a smallish vidalia onion which provided another layer of sweetness. Thanks for posting this recipe. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good!! Plenty of flavor! The whole family thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was surprisingly tasty considering its simplicity. I made this to go with pot roast and substituted some beef drippings for the butter. I also used frozen corn and a plain old yellow onion. Which I guess means I used this recipe more as a guideline, but it was still shockingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was great. I also used canned corn and I added some leftover diced tomatoes. This is how I will be making corn from now on. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States