Daddy Mack's Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bearjosh
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I've tried this recipe 4 times now and its freaking awesome and I've only got the best of the best compliments when I make it. I see no reason to hot shuck the oysters. I think shucking them cold is much easier, and it allows you to prepare ahead of time. It tastes just as good to cook them open face with the butter, just be careful of flame-ups and turn the grill down a bit once you place the oysters and butter down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearjosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Yummmmmmm! This turned out great! Only modification I had to make was to sum minced onion for the shallot. Sriracha is a must, don't leave it out. As other reviewer noted, this makes way more than needed for 12 oysters. I baked Costco frozen halibut filets for dinner last night and topped with pats of the left over butter in the last 2 minutes of baking (11 min. total at 400 degrees). Another hit in my house! Thanks, Chef Dad, for this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Delicious, don't change a thing, BUT...forget about the butter log, wrapped in wax paper etc...you don't need it. Use room temperature butter, soften slightly in the microwave if you must add all other ingredients and let it start to harden on the counter before you cook...makes a soft paste. Follow directions and glob on a spoonful at the end of cooking! OH YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBNITWIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made a version of this for a tailgate party at a football game. I didnt add the Sriracha sauce merely because I was trying to make the butter with ingredients I had on hand. I also used red onion instead of shallot. It was awesome and definitely a hit. Next time I will make this with the chili of some kind, and maybe a pinch of grated Havarti on top of the oyster. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is an awesome recipe, although if you are making a dozen oysters, cut the butter sauce in half and you will still have some left over. Speaking of which....I used my left over sriracha butter to put over salmon a couple nights later, and it was absolutely killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These are REALLY delicious. I mourn not living in an area where I can get fresh oysters, but it still worked out very well, minus the extra work to open the oysters that wouldn't open on their own. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
OMG this is GREAT !!! Thanks LOVE GARLIC yummmmmy :) 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great Recipe! I celebrated my father's birthday with a seafood night and the butter was a hit! Hits the spot with steamed/grilled shrimp, oysters and crab meat! Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great for Oysters. Maybe a little too much garlic and in general I think the recipe makes too much butter for the amount of shellfish. The flavor is good, but I tried it on clams too and was not a fan. Probably more because clams taste too fishy too me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very very good! Probably the best Oyster recipe out there. Try the butter on clams and mussels as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States