DONA MARIA® Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is our go-to fish taco recipe. We use cod, diced up into 1/2" cubes. I only use 1 tsp of Goya chicken bouillon in the sauce. We cook our fish in a non-stick pan in a little olive oil, and brush with the sauce when done. We also use finely shredded cabbage with the dressing suggested in this recipe. Add some homemade guacamole and salsa, and everyone LOVES this recipe. We serve on faintly buttered corn tortillas that are warmed in a skillet. EXCELLENT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Made it as described and loved it. It is delicious and fast to make. It took longer to preheat the oven than to make the entire recipe. This is a great go-to lunch and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annanorfolk
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I didn't have the seasonings so I tweaked it..smoked chili powder, cumin and garlic powder served with my home made salsa..Yum..made black beans Goya brand and their recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I didn't use picante clasica and it was fine without. I would use less chicken bouillon next time (I used two of the little packets-2 tsp worth). It was a little salty. I also didn't use all the lettuce because there wasn't a ton of the mayo/sour cream/lime juice mix. Next time I will either do the same or add more mixture to the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remorgan2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was good. I used hard taco shells as it was what I had on hand and would definitely say that the soft shells are the way to go. If you cannot find the specific seasoning, use a mix of cumin, chili powder and onion powder and skip the bouillon, it is equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Here is how I adapted the recipe - I used Tilapia fillets and left out the chicken bouillon. I had some coleslaw on hand that I mixed with chipotle pineapple salsa to add to the tacos, so I left out the lettuce and mayo. Served with black beans. My first time trying fish tacos and they were amazing! My husband and brother loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was delicious! My boys ages 4 and 6 loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wonderful. I varied it a little. I used Tilapia and don't know Dona Maria products. I substituted French's Taco Seasoning. I used generic salsa, tomatoes, cheese. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
these were so easy and so GOOD!!! A keeper FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Simple & Tasty: We used Tilapia and it still tasted great, that's all we had in the freezer. I tried to stick to the original recipe for testing purpose but still ended up changing a bit. Left the fish in their original cut rather then cutting into strips. Tilapia is thin anyhow. Baked for 8 min. In place of Picante Clasica, I used 3 T. salsa with cilantro. Garlic power at 1/4 t. Grilled the tortillas with a few drops of olive oil and sprinkled grated mozzarella on top. Salt and ground pepper were a must on this one. Rather then lettuce we used tri-color cold slaw.. which is much crunchier and tastes wonderful in a fish taco. OVERALL: This recipe was QUICK & SIMPLE with some good flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States