D'Amaretti Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I really liked this recipe. The texture is great crunchy but not hard as a rock. The second time I baked this Biscotti I added extra almond extract, a little more sugar and almonds. The flavor was improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I love this recipe! I used gluten-free flour instead of normal flour and i didn't use almond extract or almonds. I substituted that for lemon juice and it worked perfectly! It isn't too hard or crumbly. I did not separate the dough and do that whole process though. I simply spread it out to all corners of the pan, let it cook, then cut it into the size i wanted, and let it cook again. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I am definitely going to be using this again, for gifts, as well as just for snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The flavor of this biscotti is really good, however, I agree it is too crumbly. Also, the dough spread out a lot while it was baking which made the sides get very thin and burn a bit. Makes me think this might be a bit too much butter, maybe? I used a pizza cutter to slice them which made cutting them up really easy! Also, I would really recommend watching one of the biscotti recipes from this site before undertaking biscotti for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was my first try at biscotti and it turned out great! My husband can't quit dipping it into his coffee! I wanted an orange flavor so used the zest of an orange instead of the lemon, used 1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. After the final baking and cooling, I melted and drizzled a high quality chocolate over them. This will be my go to recipe for biscotti! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
The egg white was unnecessary as it did seem to crumble a bit. Not sure if it actually added any flavour. As far as the rest of the flavour..it needed more. I used 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/2 lemon extract. Next time, I will double to see if it adds more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is the first time I tried making biscotti, I didn't know how it would turn out but I used half wheat flour, and splenda instead of sugar. I also left out the toasted almonds because I didn't have any. I was very nervous when shaping the loafs, it seemed very crumbly. They came out perfect though! A little plain but I blame that on myself for not adding something else in since I didn't have almonds. My husband (who normally hates anything almond flavored) even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
LOVE this recipe. Also used this one with chopped dates and orange zest. Just add 1/4 c. corn oil to batter. Hope you guys try it. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
delicious and smell wonderful. I got tired of waiting and upped the temp to toast them to 350 and worked out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is such a user friendly recipe. I have made two batches, the first one I stuck to the recipe and the whole batch was eaten up in less than 3 hours so i couldnt test the how good they get with time. with the second i squeezed some orange juice and put shavings of cooking chocolate and they didnt last much longer. this is defintely a staple for me. Oh i also added extra flour to prevent the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good recipe! They always get better with age so at first I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. Be patient and give a few days for the taste to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States