D'Amaretti Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Yummy! I did use vanilla instead of almond extract which was fine. Also I increased the 2nd baking time to 25 mins, however, I live at high altitude (5000') and always have to increase baking time for cookies & such. Also, I flipped them about halfway through baking time so both sides would look "toasted." Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It is pretty good if you like your biscotti not too hard. If you want it harder, I guess you'll need to lessen the butter and bake the slices for a longer time at a slighter cooler temperature. Two-thirds cup of sugar is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe is yummy! I used white whole wheat flour and they still were great. I think next time I would add a little more almonds and almond extract and maybe a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was the first time my sister and I had ever made biscotti. We followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! They are not super hard - which I like. We both thought they were great with tea rather then coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Point Roberts, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I bake hundreds of dozen cookies during the holiday season and the one time I tried biscotti I did not have any luck so I have not made any since. Yesterday I was feeling quite festive and decided to give these a try and to my amazememnt these came out "perfect". I have to slice them a little thinner next time but they still came out perfect I just added 5 minutes to the second baking time. Made exactly as the recipe stated, but this is a great recipe to experiment with. If this is the only recipe you try you will not be disappointed. Just make sure you dont make them any wider than 2 inches since they do spread. The smell is just heavenly. I will never buy the over priced crumblely cookies they call biscotti again. I will be excited to see if my Italian family shares my enthusiasm about these wonderful cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
i dug them. everyone whined about them being to sweet and i agree for the most part but they were great with my morning coffee. maybe next time unsweetened choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy Named Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kadena Ab, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This has been one of my most requested cookies. I kick up the flavor with double the almond extract. The idea of scoring the dough before baking is a good one and will have to try that. Normally I just an electric carving knife (its primary purpose these days) to slice through cleanly with minimal effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is such a wonderful biscotti recipe. I have used it to make several variations by substituting other flavors: orange zest with almonds and dried cranberries or dried cherries. Mini chocolate chips are also a wonderful addition. Everyone loves these when served with coffee or tea. Delight your co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
VERY good! I put in 1/4 cup mini chips in one of the loaves, and instead of using almond extract, used 1.5 tsp of amaretto. Enjoy it real Italian style - serve with a small cup of almond brandy to dip the biscotti in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Good basic recipe. It needed more flour though to keep the dough from being too sticky. I used margarine instead of butter. Also, I scored the dough first, AND I cut it before cooling it and I had little to no crumbling--but use a single-motion when cutting through, or you may pull out dough from the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States