DASH Diet Mexican Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Really liked this recipe. I omitted the jalopeno and poblano peppers. I used crushed tomatoes and cooked brown rice. I also love that you don't have to precook the chicken. I probably would mix in my cheese next time since I hate the overcooked rectangle of cheese that you end up with. It was sooo good and didn't even need salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My family just didn't care for this.I can't put my finger on it,other then the spicy taste it was bland lacking something.The next day my husband had some leftovers but asked if I would take it personally if he threw the rest away.I will be not remake this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
YUMMM!!!! Made last night, I substituted Red Quinoa for the rice,used precooked chicken and it was DELISH! My hubs even went back for seconds (that's when I know its a good dish) Only change I would make, I will mix my ingredients before putting in the casserole dish and then top with cheese and jalapenos, because I like it all mixed together instead of layered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Thank you for the recipe! I did not have everything, so improvised with left over canned and fresh salsa & fresh tomato's. Excellent basic recipe that can be modified to fit what is in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I left out the chicken from this dish to make it vegetarian and was pleased with the results! I used pinto beans in place of the black beans because, unfortunately, I was totally out. I left out the jalapenos because I am a wienie when it comes to spicy stuff, but I think this could have used the extra heat. I also topped mine with some avocado to make up for the lack of chicken. Easy recipe and I think the leftovers would go nicely in a burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I have been on the dash diet for about three weks now and love the recipes! This one is so easy to prepare and absolutely delicious. I also did not have pablano peppers so substituted some green bell pepper. I also used half a fresh tomato along with one can of diced tomatoes, one can of sloppy joe sauce and about a half cup of fresh chopped zuccini. I agree that you should wait until the last 10 minutes or so before adding the cheese as it was way too browned. All in all , a wonderful meal that I will be saving to my favorites! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I must have been the only one with this problem, but after 45 minutes at 400 degrees the cheese on top of this was burned almost to the point of being inedible. The flavor was what we were looking for - I think the next time we try making it I'll cook the chicken ahead of time and severely reduce the overall cooking time. Other than that, it definitely has the potential to be a great dish, and the problem may be nothing more than a quirk in my own oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I don't use poblano or jalapeno peppers. I use a can of rotel with diced tomatoes and green chilis. I, also, used cheder and mozzerella cheeses as a substitute. I cook covered and it turns out delicious. It's a great recipe to double for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I make this quite a bit and I never get tired of it. I know it is supposed to be a healthy recipe, but I sometimes use spanish rice instead of brown and I'll use seasoned black beans. My one year old also loves this. I give it 4 stars because I do make some substitutes and it can be time consuming to make dicing the peppers and the uncooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is a good change of pace dish for someone following the Dash Diet. As I don't care for cheese, I ended up omitting the cheese and increasing the cumin and chili powder to give more flavor. I also added some salt free pepper blend. I then served it on a low fat,whole wheat tortilla. Lettuce or romaine plus some fat free plain yogurt could be added if one desired. The Dash Diet is working for me. Within 2 weeks my blood pressure had dropping dramatically. I have also lost 2-4 pounds every week since beginning this diet about a month ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States