DASH Diet Mexican Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Overall, this was a very good recipe. I didn't drain the tomatoes and it got a bit watery. Next time, I might mix some shredded cheese in with the tomato mixture to thicken it up a bit. It tasted good, though. My 3 yr old loved it, but my 5 yr old just picked the chicken out of it and wouldn't eat anything else :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
In my quest to find a healthy Cinco de Mayo dish, I found this one. I drained the tomatoes and used an enchilada sauce instead. I also added green onions. My boyfriend keeps going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was okay for an easy reduced fat dinner idea. I liked not having to precook the chicken before assembling the casserole. The cheese on top dried out while baking.The flavor was okay but the top looked overdone.I would try to wait to add the cheese twenty minutes into the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Not very tasty, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
A good basic recipe. I had various leftovers in the fridge and was trying to decide if I should mix or layer them and this recipe helped me decide to layer. I poured a little chicken broth over the rice. I used some diced tomatoes and some tomato sauce--I would say, just use tomato sauce. My two year old especially liked the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didn't drain the tomatoes either and also had a lot of water in the bottom of the pan. Once I drained that off, it was very good--especially the second day. I used boneless, skinless chicken tenders and left them whole. Used canned corn instead of frozen. The only ingredient I didn't have was the poblano pepper, but it was still very tasty--especially for being a "diet" dish. It was not lacking in flavor for me. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This turned into a kind of seven-layer Mexican stew: In my casserole I put UNCOOKED white rice, chicken pieces, one can of black beans, a can of corn (undrained), one can of diced tomatoes (undrained), chopped onions, sharp Cheddar cheese and sliced jalapenos. (No poblano or red bell pepper in the house.) I topped the whole with generous amounts of chili powder and garlic powder (out of garlic and cumin also). I then baked it uncovered for 25 minutes but put the cover on for another 20 because the rice wasn't cooked. It turned out surprisingly good! Next time I'll cover from the start, plus I'll season the chicken and put the onions closer to the bottom so they're a little less crunchy. I can see how this might work with browned ground beef as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is a good change of pace dish for someone following the Dash Diet. As I don't care for cheese, I ended up omitting the cheese and increasing the cumin and chili powder to give more flavor. I also added some salt free pepper blend. I then served it on a low fat,whole wheat tortilla. Lettuce or romaine plus some fat free plain yogurt could be added if one desired. The Dash Diet is working for me. Within 2 weeks my blood pressure had dropping dramatically. I have also lost 2-4 pounds every week since beginning this diet about a month ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I make this quite a bit and I never get tired of it. I know it is supposed to be a healthy recipe, but I sometimes use spanish rice instead of brown and I'll use seasoned black beans. My one year old also loves this. I give it 4 stars because I do make some substitutes and it can be time consuming to make dicing the peppers and the uncooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I don't use poblano or jalapeno peppers. I use a can of rotel with diced tomatoes and green chilis. I, also, used cheder and mozzerella cheeses as a substitute. I cook covered and it turns out delicious. It's a great recipe to double for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States