DASH Diet Mexican Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didn't drain the tomatoes either and also had a lot of water in the bottom of the pan. Once I drained that off, it was very good--especially the second day. I used boneless, skinless chicken tenders and left them whole. Used canned corn instead of frozen. The only ingredient I didn't have was the poblano pepper, but it was still very tasty--especially for being a "diet" dish. It was not lacking in flavor for me. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I have been on the dash diet for about three weks now and love the recipes! This one is so easy to prepare and absolutely delicious. I also did not have pablano peppers so substituted some green bell pepper. I also used half a fresh tomato along with one can of diced tomatoes, one can of sloppy joe sauce and about a half cup of fresh chopped zuccini. I agree that you should wait until the last 10 minutes or so before adding the cheese as it was way too browned. All in all , a wonderful meal that I will be saving to my favorites! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Really liked this recipe. I omitted the jalopeno and poblano peppers. I used crushed tomatoes and cooked brown rice. I also love that you don't have to precook the chicken. I probably would mix in my cheese next time since I hate the overcooked rectangle of cheese that you end up with. It was sooo good and didn't even need salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was really good. I misread the ingredients and thought this used precooked chicken. I realized my mistake prior to cooking the rice so I decided to do this in a skillet on the stove top and use instant rice with the additional water needed to cook it so the chicken wouldn't be over cooked. It worked great and after simmering covered for about 20 minutes I added the cheese just to melt. The stove top method might be my preference from now on as it was only one dirty pan and faster for a weeknight. Also, I used fresh diced tomato and tomatillo rather than canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
A good basic recipe. I had various leftovers in the fridge and was trying to decide if I should mix or layer them and this recipe helped me decide to layer. I poured a little chicken broth over the rice. I used some diced tomatoes and some tomato sauce--I would say, just use tomato sauce. My two year old especially liked the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This turned into a kind of seven-layer Mexican stew: In my casserole I put UNCOOKED white rice, chicken pieces, one can of black beans, a can of corn (undrained), one can of diced tomatoes (undrained), chopped onions, sharp Cheddar cheese and sliced jalapenos. (No poblano or red bell pepper in the house.) I topped the whole with generous amounts of chili powder and garlic powder (out of garlic and cumin also). I then baked it uncovered for 25 minutes but put the cover on for another 20 because the rice wasn't cooked. It turned out surprisingly good! Next time I'll cover from the start, plus I'll season the chicken and put the onions closer to the bottom so they're a little less crunchy. I can see how this might work with browned ground beef as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I left out the chicken from this dish to make it vegetarian and was pleased with the results! I used pinto beans in place of the black beans because, unfortunately, I was totally out. I left out the jalapenos because I am a wienie when it comes to spicy stuff, but I think this could have used the extra heat. I also topped mine with some avocado to make up for the lack of chicken. Easy recipe and I think the leftovers would go nicely in a burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Thank you for the recipe! I did not have everything, so improvised with left over canned and fresh salsa & fresh tomato's. Excellent basic recipe that can be modified to fit what is in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
YUMMM!!!! Made last night, I substituted Red Quinoa for the rice,used precooked chicken and it was DELISH! My hubs even went back for seconds (that's when I know its a good dish) Only change I would make, I will mix my ingredients before putting in the casserole dish and then top with cheese and jalapenos, because I like it all mixed together instead of layered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nmendillo
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I would suggest adding cheese to melt halfway. It burned for me so I added more afterwards. Still good though. A bit watery and very spicy but great for DASH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy BBQ Bake

A perfect recipe for indoor BBQ chicken.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States