D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soon2BeChef
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Loved it. Used chicken stock instead of water. No need for poultry seasoning. Made half of the recipe. Used boneless, skinless chicken breast. Cooked for 25 minutes with celery, carrots and onions. Followed the remaining of the recipe. Great dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Great recipe..only things I done different were used chicken bouillon and left out the celery, onion, and poultry seasoning..dumplings turned out great..very delicious..saved this recipe and will definitely be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Thank you to everyone that left feedback...I greatly appreciate it. Everyone taste is different and you can ALWAYS customize ANY recipe to you and your family liking....Thanks to everyone for commenting..the good and bad :) God bless!!! Sis T aka Taryn H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
SO GOOD!! This was an awesome authentic southern chicken n dumplings, also known as slippery pot pie I added carrots and potatoes to mine, and in the dumpling dough I added some thyme and fresh cracked pepper. Thick n delicious! Brings back memories eating this, definitely a comfort food! Thanks for the great recipe! Will be making a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing it! I love the chicken and dumplings my family in Arkansas made and have been so hungry for it. This dish turned out perfect for me. I had homemade chicken stock in the freezer already, and used chicken meat from a rotisserie chicken. I halved the dumpling recipe. I followed the directions and refrigerated the dough for 2 hours. I used butter as the fat for the dough. I followed someone else's suggestion and used 1/4 tsp each of baking soda and salt (essentially doubling what was called for). When I added the dumplings to the broth I didn't dust them off so much so that there was extra sprinkles of flour in with the broth. It all thickened beautifully. It was like a thick chicken-y stew. I added a few carrots, half an onion and a couple stalks of chopped celery. I highly recommend this recipe. If you love good old-time Southern chicken and dumplings, you will love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is what southern chicken and Dumpling are suppose to taste like! Been making them for my family for 30 years and they always have a second bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
THIS IS AS CLOSE AS I CAN GET TO GRANDMAS. I make it every year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnacabana
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
"Maybe i messed it up by instead using only chicken breast and thighs but it had no flavor until i added a little soup starter seasoning, milk, and flour then it was perfect and the serving portion doesnt seem right to me i was left with a big pot of chicken and dumplings so im nor sure what i messed up lol but thanks for getting me a start i had never made chicken and dumplings"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was very much like my grandmother's. I felt the dumplings needed something so like someone else did I added sage but should have added more salt. I think they needed a little more baking soda to and needed to cook much longer. I was never that crazy about my grandmother's chicken and dumplings. It's too much of a soup for my taste. My 95 year old father loved it though. I did thicken it with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing recipe, the same one I have used for years. This recipe has been passed down for generations. Thank you for sharing and reminding me of the treasures I have in my old family cookbooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donalsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States