D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Who in their right mind would use a 1 ball recipe!!!!!!! :-). Also half a lemon made a nice layer. Note this is just like a old time Pennsy Dutch/Polish dish called Chix Potpie that my pap used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
THIS is the authentic, real, you-haven't-lived-until-you've tried it Old Fashioned Chicken n' Dumplin's. When we talk C n' D in the South THIS is what we're talking about. Takes longer, because you make your own broth...but it am the real thing! Mm-hmm! Very close to My Grandma's recipe -- and she ran a boarding house back in turn-of-the-century Waxahachie, Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is the best chicken and dumplin receipe I've ever tried! It is just as good if not better than my mother in law's....but dont tell her I said so! The only thing I did different was that after my chicken cooked....I deboned it then added it back to the pot with the dumplins. Also I simmered the dumplings for about 30-40 min until they were tender.....adding just a sprinkling of flour to thicken. The whole family loved it! This is my ONLY chicken and dumpling receipe now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Yum-O! These dumplings were just the right texture. I 'upped' the soda and salt to 1/2 tsp. each, and it was perfect. I will definitely be using this recipe all the time. Thankyou!! Dana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I adored this recipe! I am from Texas originally and this is very similar to the C and D's that I grew up eating. I have been looking for a recipe for rolled dumplings for years and this dough is PERFECT for rolling out! I did make a few changes. I added coarse ground pepper and parsley flakes to the dumpling dough 'cause I like them like that. I also sliced potatoes super thin and added them the last 30 minutes before I added the dumplings. I also tossed in some baby carrots and green beans the last 30 minutes as well. Even my Midwest husband enjoyed this recipe and the leftovers the next day are INCREDIBLE! Absolutely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Thanks for sharing this recipe !!! This is how my Grandmother makes them, I wouldnt even think about putting carrots or lemons in it ..... If you want a puffier dumpling use self rising flour, If you want a thicker soup, mix some of the broth in a seperate bowl with flour then add to pot. This recipe is the authentic chicken and dumplins' that I know and love....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This was the first time I tried this recipe and it tastes JUST LIKe my Grandmothers. It is now a family favorite. It's a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I have followed this recipe and made it a dozen times. Every time I'm left with an empty pot. The only things I do different are I add sage and black pepper to the dough, (I'm a pepper freak.) People who say it was too watery just need to sprinkle a little flour or corn starch in and let it simmer out. Making it today and I know it will disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I've never made nor saw chicken and dumpling before. my husband is from the south and grew up on these, which happens to be his favorite meal. I was so worried about making these being that I have never had them before and or seen them. I followed the recipie to the T and my husband loved them! they were just like his ( now deceased ) Mom used to make. Thank you do much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was absolutely fantastic! I had always 'cheated' when making dumplings and used can biscuit dough. My husband said it was {this} close to tasting as good as his Gramma's. Easy to make with wonderful results! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States